Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Compaq Presario CQ56 is connected to network, but has 'no internet access'

This is a discussion on Compaq Presario CQ56 is connected to network, but has 'no internet access' within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My compaq presario cq56 laptop has been connected, via wireless, to our home broadband network for ages, but suddenly it's


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2011, 03:43 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7


Cry

My compaq presario cq56 laptop has been connected, via wireless, to our home broadband network for ages, but suddenly it's not working. A yellow triangle with an exclamation mark has appeared over the bars of the internet symbol in the system tray, and it tells me it's connected, but that there's no internet access.
All the other computers on the network are fine (one laptop, connected wirelessly,. and a desktop connected via cable). I have called TalkTalk and they have checked the connection, concluding that its fine. I have also been in contact with the manufacturer of our router (Belkin). After changing lots of settings around, they told me it must be an issue with the network adapter (?) on my laptop. I can't actually find any support from Compaq/HP themselves. Please help!!
lize182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2011, 04:15 AM   #2
Part Time Repair Tech
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 1,267
OS: XP, Vista, 7, Ubuntu



Look under device manager to see if there's any yellow exclamation marks.
From the command prompt run ipconfig /all then post results.
Blade_Jones is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 04:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7



No yellow exclamation marks in device manager...


C:\Users\Liz>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Liz-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-65-9D-88-85-D9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte
r
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-65-9D-88-85-D9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1942:9578:6e46:5285%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30 September 2011 10:29:18
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 November 2147 17:50:47
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 320628125
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-FC-02-17-64-31-50-62-35-FF

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-31-50-62-35-FF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{6CF43E3D-1F03-446F-A01C-BC6C92C2BF9B}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 32:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Liz>ipconfig /all
lize182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2011, 11:17 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Open CMD again (As Administrator)

Code:
Ipconfig /release
Ipconfig /renew
Ipconfig /flushdns
Wait a minute or two.

then type in

Code:
ping www.yahoo.com
see if there is positive results.


If this does not solve the issue you might have a static ip configuration installed through Windows.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 12:18 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Origionally Lancashire UK
Posts: 109
OS: xp home/pro, 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.10, Jolicloud



Hi, you could also try this free tool from rizonesoft Rizonesoft Complete Internet Repair | Rizonesoft just run the software, try selecting the first top 4 boxes and click go, restart your laptop once finished and see if it fixes your problem.

if not you could try setting static dns servers in your wireless network connection, try 8.8.8.8 for primary and 8.8.4.4 for secondary - these are googles dns settings.
aaronmarsh632 is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 01:45 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,101
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Your Default Gateway is your Router. Unplug the power plug to the Modem and the Router. Plug the power into just the Modem (unless you have a modem/router combo) When all the lights come up, plug in the power to the Router (unless combo of course)
Now Go to Start/Search and type inetcpl.cpl and press enter/Connections/LAN Settings. Make sure all the boxes are unchecked. Now go to Start/Search and type ncpa.cpl and press enter. Right click the Local Area connection/Properties scroll down to Internet Protocol (TCP-IP)/Properties. Make sure Obtain an IP Address and DNS Server Address Automatically are both checked. Now go to Start/Search and type CMD and press enter. IN the Command Prompt type ipconfig /release and press enter. the IP Address changes to 0.0.0.0 Now type ipconfig /flushdns and press enter. Now type ipconfig /renew. Now type ipconfig /all. You should have a new IP address try it again. If you still cannot connect please include the text output of your ipconfig /all in your next post
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Connected to wireless, but can't access the internet :/
Hey guys, I recently moved to a new school, and I can connect to the college wireless network, but I can't actually get on the internet (I'm on wired right now, which works fine). I get that little yellow exclamation point over my wireless bar symbol. My laptop's wireless worked fine at home,...
obr Networking Support 14 06-18-2012 07:34 PM
[SOLVED] I have a pc connected to my network but do not want it to use the internet h
I want to prevent a pc on my network from accessing the internet how can I do this. Please I have a wireless router but the pc is connected via cable. I want it to use the network for access to storage but not the internet nor allow any program on it to access the internet. Any suggestions...
rowlando Networking Support 6 08-18-2011 10:48 PM
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 07:36 PM
Both LAN and WAN computers won't stay connected to internet
Iíve been having an issue for the past 3 weeks keeping my primary wired PC and the wireless PCs in my home network connected to the Internet. The internet constantly disconnects intermittently (with no rhyme or reason) and have tried everything I could do to try to resolve the issue. I connected my...
Lovenharmony Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 7 04-15-2011 12:06 PM
Connects to AD HOC network but no internet access
Hello, I have TP LINK - WN321G wireless adapter usb for my desktop pc I use Huawai UMG1831 data card on laptop by which i access internet on laptop. Now i was trying to use wireless adapter to access internet on the desktop pc(running windows xp sp2) via AD HOC connection made on the ...
kuldipbaldha Networking Support 3 01-02-2011 05:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts