Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Command prompt won't execute commands from cmd or command

This is a discussion on Command prompt won't execute commands from cmd or command within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, Earlier my internet was being slow so I went to do a ping test and CMD proceeded to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2013, 09:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 38
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Hey guys,
Earlier my internet was being slow so I went to do a ping test and CMD proceeded to tell me that it didn't reconize the command. I have done countless pings before and this was weird. If i run CMD from the run bar by typing in its Dir then i can run ping and all the other commands or if i change the dir to sytem32 and run the command it works as well. I'm thinking that the paths for the cmd files have somehow gotten messed with and I'm not really sure how to change those so any advice on how to correct those paths would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Dreadmyst87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2013, 09:59 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



If you go Start - type cmd then right click on cmd to select Run as administrator you can run a system file check with the cmd sfc /scannow

With Win 7 you don't need to use the Run box.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 10:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 38
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Meant the the Search bar lol

this is the result of the scan you told mentioned.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow

Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.

Beginning verification phase of system scan.
Verification 100% complete.
Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of th
em.
Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log

C:\Windows\system32>

Heres the contents of the log file
Attached Files
File Type: txt CBS txt.txt (2.71 MB, 36 views)
Dreadmyst87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2013, 01:43 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



If you have a Win 7 install disk that you can boot up with by going into the Setup (poss. F2 on start up) and change the Boot order to read the CD/DVD before the HDD - insert the disk then Save and Exit - you can select Repair which will take you to the Repair Environment (RE) then select Command Prompt and enter the following cmd - assuming your OS is in C:

sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=C:\Windows

There is a space before each forward slash and this will perform the same op but from a clean source.

If you don't have a Win 7 install disk then you can Google for win 7 sp1 iso download - selecting the correct version and use this program to create a bootable USB or Disk Microsoft Store

Let us know what that reports.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 04:47 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 38
OS: Windows 7 SP1



I don't know where my Win7 disk ran off too but i made an ISO but for some reason I can get my system to read the disk that way. had to make a bootable USB to win 7 on this machine. but thats anther issue that i wont get into lol.

I do have some Windows 7 repair disks that i downloaded from Microsoft a while back. I can try and see if my computer will boot those. I know i can boot into Ubunto from disk but i havnt tried the repair disks.
Dreadmyst87 is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 05:14 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, the RE (repair your computer) option is installed with Seven (not so Vista), boot to safe mode advanced and select the "repair your computer" option go to command prompt to run Tomken's cmd. OR this is what I would do:-

Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, the question of running a sfc gets asked quite often, it is confusing especially if you are faced with the prospect that it finds errors and was unable to repair them.How do you find these errors?

When sfc completes it gives a summary it will say it found no integrity violations (corrupt files), you are good to go. It might say it found integrity violations (corrupt files) and repaired them, you are good to go. If it say's it found integrity violations (corrupt files) and was unable to repair them, you might have a problem (not all errors are cause for concern, I have modified my system and sfc always finds problems, when you check them they are benign, as far as effecting the system goes) This does not mean errors should not be checked they may well cause problems.

First problem is the Log cbs, it's used for other purposes (The Windows Modules Installer service also writes to the CBS.log file. The Windows Modules Installer service installs optional features, updates, and service packs) and can be quite large, so it's best if you clear the log before running sfc.

Go to start search and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type:-

Code:
CD %windir%\logs\CBS (press enter)
DEL *.* (press enter) press Y at the are you sure prompt.
Exit (press enter) cmd prompt will close.
Open cmd prompt again (as admin) as shown.At the prompt type:-

Code:
sfc/scannow
(press enter)


Be patient can take awhile when finished if you have no corruption or the corruption has been repaired, you can simply continue using your computer. If you have a message that it found errors and was unable to repair them, OR you just want to view the logs, open a cmd as admin (as shown):-


To read the log:- at the prompt (copy paste)

Code:
findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log > 0 & notepad 0
(press enter), the log will open in notepad.

To read the log with only the errors showing:- (copy paste)

Code:
findstr /c:"[SR] Cannot" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log >0 & notepad 0
(press enter) You can post this notepad outcome here for us to assist you.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 09-20-2013, 11:07 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 38
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Sorry for the late response on this. been Super busy. here is the cleaner CBS file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt 0.txt (8.2 KB, 36 views)
Dreadmyst87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running multiple commands simultaneously - v2.63
The BSOD file collection apps can take ages to run and sometimes the OP thinks the app is hanging because the cmd/DOS screen sits with blinking curser. The biggest "offenders" - - 2 where commands - one for *.sys, one for *.dll - 2 wevtutil commands - Event Viewer logs - App & System I...
jcgriff2 jcgriff2 File Collection Scripts 23 02-13-2011 11:27 PM
CMD Dos netsend command...
I've been trying to get netsend to work across the network at school. A user keeps spamming me with messages which, even if i log out, are still there. There is thousands I have to click through.... So how can i send messages back? I can't figure it out...:4-dontkno
Marmaladee Windows XP Support 4 02-02-2011 08:39 AM
How to use the command ATTRIB properly in cmd
I need to know how to properly use ATTRIB because I need to change some attributes to a mass amount of files and this command would make it much quicker and easier. :grin: Thanks!
XxbloodawgxX Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 01-26-2011 09:07 PM
"ipconfig " command not working in CMD
Hey in CMD " ipconfig " command and some of others not working Why is this ? Is this a virus , worm or some kind of those ?
Andremaha Windows XP Support 5 01-13-2011 09:47 AM
OTL Tutorial
Written by emeraldnzl and reposted here with permission and thanks. Introduction Regularly check your canned. Make sure it is up to date with changes (this tool is updated frequently) and that you have the correct download link. The correct ones for the latest version at time of writing are...
tetonbob The Annex 4 06-07-2010 08:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts