Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

change from Wifi to LAN and vice versa

This is a discussion on change from Wifi to LAN and vice versa within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. How do I change from Wifi to LAN and vice versa using Windows 7 ? Is there a short cut


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2015, 05:56 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



How do I change from Wifi to LAN and vice versa using Windows 7 ?

Is there a short cut I can put on desktop to change the connection, so I don't have to go to control panel each time I wish to change the mode of connection ?

Thanks
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2015, 08:43 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,034
OS: win 10 Home



Does your pc have a wifi switch.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 12:51 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Does your pc have a wifi switch.
Is this WiFi switch on the keyboard?

F2 ?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20151014_144908.png
Views:	43
Size:	555.8 KB
ID:	257802
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20151014_144951.png
Views:	39
Size:	555.8 KB
ID:	257810  
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2015, 01:02 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,269
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes, hold down the FN key and press the F2 key with the Wifi icon to turn off or turn on Wireless.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 01:23 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Yes, hold down the FN key and press the F2 key with the Wifi icon to turn off or turn on Wireless.
So turn off wireless would automatically connrct to LAN connection for internet?
If we have ethernet cable plugged in already ?
Turn on wirless will auto connect to wireless and disconnect LAN Internet connection ?


Thanks
zhong is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 01:26 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,034
OS: win 10 Home



It should connect
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-14-2015, 01:47 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,269
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you have an Ethernet cable plugged in and turn on the Wireless it may still use the Ethernet LAN connection by default. You can tell if the Network connection in the taskbar by the clock turns into a Wireless icon, then you know it's using the wireless. The easiest thing to do is to leave the wireless on, and unplug the Ethernet cable when you want to use Wireless.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 01:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
sunainaganguly2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: India
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 8


Send a message via MSN to sunainaganguly2 Send a message via Yahoo to sunainaganguly2 Send a message via Skype™ to sunainaganguly2

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhong View Post
So turn off wireless would automatically connrct to LAN connection for internet?
If we have ethernet cable plugged in already ?
Turn on wirless will auto connect to wireless and disconnect LAN Internet connection ?


Thanks
LAN is always 1st preference if both Wifi and LAN is active.

To active Wifi = Switch on your your WIFI ( FN + F2 ) -> Go to Network and sharing center -> Change adapter and disable your LAN

To active LAN = Just Enable the LAN from Network and sharing center ( Don't need to switch off your WIFI connection )
sunainaganguly2 is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 02:43 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,269
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
or leave the wireless on, and unplug the Ethernet cable when you want to use Wireless.
plug the Ethernet cable back in when you want to use Ethernet.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 03:15 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
gofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SE Qld, Australia
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 10, Windows 7, Ubuntu, Raspberry Pi linux (couple of variants)



You really have to disconnect one before it will use only the other. If you are using Wi-Fi and plug in cable you can end up with a double connection to your home network. I know this through experience. I have also found if I turn on my Wi-Fi with ethernet still plugged in then both connect.

There is no rule about how many connections you can have from a PC to a network just so long as each has it connection own individual IP address.

You can also connect a computer to multiple network with multiple network interfaces. Each one will get an IP address for each network it is attached to. You can also connect one interface to multiple networks (VPNs) on the same physical connection.
You need to ensure that your computer or any software that runs on it does not bridge the multiple network connections.
gofish is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 03:30 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,269
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by sunainaganguly2 View Post
LAN is always 1st preference if both Wifi and LAN is active.
Meaning, if an Ethernet cable is plugged in, it will default to LAN and not use WiFi.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting LAN with different subnets via WiFi
Hi All First time I am here so thanks in advance. I have a client with two offices. Subnet in Office A is 192.168.10.x. Subnet in Office B is 192.168.0.x. Offices are approximately .5 miles apart. Want to connect the two offices together so Office A can use Office B's fiber Internet...
ideprize Protocols and Routing 1 08-27-2015 01:25 AM
Dlna problem over wifi and lan
Sir I have a problem.....i can use dlna(allshare) on my Samsung tv when i connect it to lan.....i can stream videos from my laptop when both tv and lap are connected to router via lan cable...but when i use wifi on laptop and tv being connected to lan itself, i cant detect the tv and vice...
Navein Networking Support 11 02-26-2013 04:20 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts