Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Boot loop and black screen after windows logo

This is a discussion on Boot loop and black screen after windows logo within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Since I moved my pc to a LAN-party it takes dozens of time to get the computer starting without a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2010, 02:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro x84



Since I moved my pc to a LAN-party it takes dozens of time to get the computer starting without a boot loop.

When it starts my pc screen goes on standby after the windows loading screen while Safe-mode works perfect.

Could it be hardware related? because I might have been staticly charged at the LAN-party since I felt electricity everytime I touched the metal of the case.
icaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2010, 03:38 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jonathan_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rednecksville
Posts: 3,260
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


It could be hardware related, so we can run some tests. I'm wondering why safe mode works fine.

First off, are you really using XP, or are you using Vista/7?

The first thing I would do is open up the case and check your connections. Pull out the RAM and seat it firmly, make sure the hard drive power and SATA cables are in tight.

Any cable you see, make sure it's in securely.
Jonathan_King is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 03:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro x84



I've done some searching myself.
my thoughts: 2 problems.
1. Bad power connection leading to boot loops (the orange light next to the power light doesn't work with boot loops)
2. Videocard issue leading to black screens and BSOD (atihmpag.sys) --> reinstalled the video card and it seems to work for now.
icaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2010, 03:49 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jonathan_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rednecksville
Posts: 3,260
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


Okay, but I'm wondering if the card needs to be reseated.

Let's ask, why did moving the machine cause problems? Hardware is the best I can think. The jarring during transportation and setup might have caused the card to come loose.
Jonathan_King is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 03:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro x84



The card aint lose.

If I gently smack the place where the orange light is located (next to power button) It starts to light up again and no boot-loop! (succes not always guaranteed)
icaron is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 04:41 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jonathan_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rednecksville
Posts: 3,260
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


Definitely some loose hardware. Check your cabling. ;)
Jonathan_King is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts