Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Black screen after reinstall, no cursor, need help please.

This is a discussion on Black screen after reinstall, no cursor, need help please. within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A few weeks back I downloaded some stuff, after that my system kept messing up as in the full window


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2011, 09:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Home Premium sp1



A few weeks back I downloaded some stuff, after that my system kept
messing up as in the full window wouldn't load, half would appear in blocks
the other half was missing, you could see the desktop.

I wiped out the hard drive thinking some kind of virus. Tried to reinstall
from recovery discs that I had to get from HP but that is not working,
desktop won't load. I was able to get it up in safe mode one time,
tried updating drivers through device manager, can't get the bios
update from disc loaded.

I have tried everything I have found about the black screen issue: removed memory, reset cmosbattery/jumpers, checked the registry, unplugged/reseated all.

Gparted:

dev/sda1 Compaq 223.55GB 12.79GB used 210.77GB unused Boot
dev/sda2 Factory Image 9.34Gb 8.03GB used 1.30GB unused
unallocated 2.49 MB

Information shows sda1 and 2 not mounted.

3x ran:
chkdsk /f c:

Windows has checked the filesystem and found no problems.
0 KB in bad sectors.

3x ran:

Startup repair with windows disc (not regular recovery disc) shows windows booted succesfully.
Startup repair on its own in pc shows windows booted succesfully.
At one point startup repair showed no OS installed a few days back.
I can accessfiles through the windows disc though.

Memtest shows no errors.

Still not getting desktop up and running.
Can anyone help?

Thank you
Sandy
SandysHere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



The hard drive may be faulty -- all hard drives will fail sooner or later.
You can test the hard drive with the drive manufacturer's own diagnostic software which doesn't need Windows. You download the DOS version on a working PC & make a bootable CD from it. Then boot the faulty PC from that CD and run the test.

The links for each drive manufacturer's testing software are here;
Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.

If you don't know what make the hard drive is, you can use Seagate SeaTools for DOS which can be used to test any make of hard drive.
Get it from here: | Seagate
Make sure you download the DOS version, not the Windows version.
pip22 is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Home Premium sp1



Hi,

Thank you for the reply.

I tested the hard drive using seagate and it passed. Is that good or bad in
this case??

Sandy
SandysHere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2011, 08:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Home Premium sp1



After countless searches I had the luck of stumbling upon this:

If the installation again stops at “completing installation” Restart the computer. Now try starting the computer in safe mode (Start tapping on the F8 key on the keyboard when the computer starts up till you get the Advanced boot options and select safe mode and press enter)

Once after you select safe mode, you may get an error “Installation cannot proceed in safe mode” ignore this message and press Shift+F10. This should open the command prompt.

In the command prompt type the following command and press enter

devmgmt.msc

This should open the Device manager. Under device manager disable Network adapters, Display adapters, Sound cards, Floppy disk controllers, Memory card readers and TV tuner cards.

Once after disabling these devices, restart the computer and the installation should proceed.




One thing I noticed list under network adapters was alot listed that I did not recognize, just disabled all of them.

It worked! Installation completed and desktop is now loaded!
SandysHere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] HP Pavillion DV5000 BSOD and Black Screen
Hi; I am working on a laptop problem, its an HP Pavillion DV5000 (DV5244eu) First Problem: When switching on all of the blue LEDs illuminate (apart from mute button) but the screen was black, I have sussed out that although the screen was black the laptop was in fact on its just the the LCD...
JonnyAlpha Laptop Support 6 05-08-2011 01:42 PM
Windows 7 black screen, black or blank thumbnails, and black desktop themes
I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit. So, these are my problems described in the title. I cannot change desktop from black, only can set a picture as a background. When I am in pictures folder for example, I see blank or black thumbnails. When I right click and go to personalize, I can see black...
Dominik Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 02-26-2011 07:31 PM
Black Screen...Motherboard problem?
I was using my computer today and it was fine, i left it for 5 minutes and came back to it and the screen was black but the blue light was on on the monitor. I assumed it was just about to go onto the screen saver so didnt think anything of it, i moved the mouse around and then screen came back on...
trueman1991 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 02-17-2011 11:10 AM
Windows Won't Boot - Black Screen
Hello, I'm having a major problem with my PC. When I switch my PC on I hear 1 beep, my motherboards manufacturer's name pops on screen for a couple of seconds (Gigabyte) Motherboard, then one final screen with a black background and lots of white text on; after this screen passes, I'm left with...
StCuth Windows XP Support 9 01-19-2011 03:46 PM
[SOLVED] Windows 7 Black Screen problem SOLVED
Ok guys I've just sorted out my black screen problem, I know so many cases of black screen are different but I thought I'll post mine so you can check if it works for you. 1.First open up an image editor. 2.Take a print screen. 3. Ctrl + V it into the image editor. IF YOU SEE YOU HAVE 2...
Perdanjam Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 01-05-2011 10:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts