Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

ATA Channel 0, ATA Channel 1: This device cannot start. (Code 10)

This is a discussion on ATA Channel 0, ATA Channel 1: This device cannot start. (Code 10) within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently installed an SSD and while I was at it set all my 8 SATA ports to AHCI as


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Question

I recently installed an SSD and while I was at it set all my 8 SATA ports to AHCI as some where on IDE mode (but I think they were the unused ports).

Now I noticed in Device Manager I have one ATA Channel 0 and one ATA Channel 1 with the error "This device cannot start. (Code 10)"

How do I fix this?

Is it best to just disable the controllers for the ports I'm not using in the BIOS? All 8 ports are enabled even though I only use 5 of them, I assume the errors would be for unused ports.

Thanks
aab1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 10:39 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



After checking the manual I can't disable SATA ports 7 & 8 because they use the same controller as the IDE ports and my DVD-RW is still IDE (it must have burnt 5000 CDs, and one CD even came out with parts of the drive on it years ago, and it still works).
aab1 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 10:56 PM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



code 10 driver not installed

don't disable the ports



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 10:58 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



If I do update driver it says the best driver is already installed.
aab1 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 11:12 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



have you reactivated the ports



dai is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 11:20 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
have you reactivated the ports
As I said I never disabled them because the controller for them also controls the IDE which I need.
aab1 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 11:56 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



rerun your m/board setup cd



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 12:16 AM   #8
Networking Team Emeritus
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 7,371
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Change the AHCI back to IDE mode.
TheCyberMan is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 12:39 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberMan View Post
Change the AHCI back to IDE mode.
That will probably fix it and I don't need AHCI on SATA ports 7-8 as they are unused. I'll try it and post back.

But what if someday I want AHCI on SATA ports 7 & 8? There must be a way for it to work.

Edit: Yes, that fixed it, thanks. I'd still like to know how to get SATA ports 7 & 8 to work in AHCI if ever I need them, ports 1-6 have no problem in AHCI mode, but are on a different controller.
aab1 is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 09:13 AM   #10
Networking Team Emeritus
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 7,371
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Normally you would enable ACHI before you install vista so when it installs it would detect ACHI is enabled but since you already have vista installed you could try the microsoft link below and do a mod to the registry i know it is for a stop error but it should work for you.

First make sure you have up to date backups of your system and data and registry.

Error message when you start a Windows 7 or Windows Vista-based computer after you change the SATA mode of the boot drive: "STOP 0x0000007B INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE"
TheCyberMan is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 01:29 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 507
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberMan View Post
Normally you would enable ACHI before you install vista so when it installs it would detect ACHI is enabled but since you already have vista installed you could try the microsoft link below and do a mod to the registry i know it is for a stop error but it should work for you.

First make sure you have up to date backups of your system and data and registry.

Error message when you start a Windows 7 or Windows Vista-based computer after you change the SATA mode of the boot drive: "STOP 0x0000007B INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE"
That article is about changing the SATA mode of the boot drive, that's not what I'm trying to do, my boot drive has always been in AHCI mode.

What I'm doing is changing the mode of completely unused ports that have nothing at all connected to them.
aab1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer randomly crashes
My laptop randomly crashes anywhere from 20-30minutes after it is switched on! My DxDiag is as follows: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 5/23/2011, 19:24:55 Machine name: LINUS-PC Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build...
MooseNoose BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 06-01-2011 08:59 AM
Bsod problems--vista
· OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Vista · x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32-bit · What was original installed OS on system? Vista · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM · Age of system (hardware) 1-2 Years? · Age of OS installation...
a7xcoreya7z BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 05-23-2011 07:11 PM
Virus redirecting all of my pages.
My computer is completely screwed! First no sound now this! Almost every time I try to do something on the internet my page is getting redirected to something else! I always have to rush to click the X button to stop the page from loading. But I want a permanent fix! Please help.
TheresMoreToMe Resolved HJT Threads 26 01-26-2011 05:48 PM
REMOTE Hacker - Bank Accounts, Email, Facebook and Administration Control
Hello Tech Support Members. This is long, though it is a culmination of past (solved threads, that aren't) information all in one as well as an all around plea to the selfless experts. I am creating this final last ditch thread to help shed some light on a real enigma that has been cloaking my...
fiLmNut Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 4 01-21-2011 06:33 AM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 10:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts