Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Acer Aspire 5742, IntelCore i3-380M goes black after acer logo loads

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 5742, IntelCore i3-380M goes black after acer logo loads within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The laptop is an Acer Aspire 5742, IntelCore i3-380M I am attaching a few pictures of what comes on the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2015, 04:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 38
OS: windows 7 home premium


Smile

The laptop is an Acer Aspire 5742, IntelCore i3-380M
I am attaching a few pictures of what comes on the screen when I turn it on.
Even in safe mode it does not let me log in, it attempts repairs, it fails and then goes to the black screen with the white cursor.
If I try to start windows normally it loads the logo and then goes to the black screen.
Yesterday, in an attempt to do repairs it was replacing invalid security drivers or something like that and it was taking ages so I had to turn it off.
For the last week it took very long to start up, failing to configure windows but it would eventually let me log in.
Since yesterday I am only getting the black screen. it is windows 7 by the way.

i need a very quick reply please
sergios is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2015, 07:33 AM   #2
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 368
OS: W7 Home!



Quick reply!!! Save your data and restore back to factory. Always have a back up image of your OS on a external drive for next time you have this problem!!
donetao is offline  
Old 04-16-2015, 08:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,630
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Your HDD may be failing. You can recover your files using an Ubuntu Live CD and save them to a USB HDD. then you can do a Factory Restore by holding down the Alt + F10 keys at bootup. Acer Aspire System Recovery Partition
If recovery fails, your HDD may be failing. You can download the ISO image for Seatools in my signature and burn the image to CD using IMGBurn or use Seaflash also in my signature. Do the Short and Long diagnostic tests on the HDD if either test fails the HDD needs to be replaced
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2015, 09:55 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 38
OS: windows 7 home premium


Roll Eyes

this is a follow up from my message sent to you yesterday.

i went to the customer.

basically, startup repair does not work from the system recovery options when you click repair your computer from the advanced boot options menu when you first press F8 when the computer first comes on , safe mode does not work either!

I tried to do a system restore from the system recovery options menu but there were no system restore point dates at all to choose from!

she did not want to do a factory reset on the Acer because all of her data would have been lost.

I went to the acer ercovery mgt (v7.7.6) screen where the files are backed up under where it says restore progress and the documents etc, etc are sent to the backup folder.

However, because it was very slow backing up the files, I left, and apparently it stopped backing up the files at 22%. She has since taken the laptop to pc world to recover the data she wants to keep!

I think that the laptop either has a corrupted master boot record or a virus that could have corrupted the master boot record which means that windows 7 cannot be loaded at all!

From the information given above, do you agree with me on this?
sergios is offline  
Old 04-17-2015, 02:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,630
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
You can recover your files using an Ubuntu Live CD and save them to a USB HDD.
It still sounds like the HDD is failing. In the Future, if a customer doesn't want to do a Factory Restore for fear of loosing files, backup their data to a USB HDD or Network drive by using a Ubuntu Live CD or by pulling the HDD from the laptop and connecting it internally to a desktop computer, via a USB Adapter, USB Dock or by putting it into a USB Enclosure and saving the files to that computer. Then you can restore the files back after the Factory Restore.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 04-21-2015, 07:49 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 38
OS: windows 7 home premium



thanks for the reply

i have hirens boot cd on a flash drive and on a dvd-rw.

I am not comfortable taking out hard drives, connecting them to a desktop computer via usb adaptors, hdd enclosures etc etc, to recover data from dead or failing hard drives.

I would rather just use hirens, and test the hard drive, outside of windows and safe mode, to see if it is failing, using their diagnostic tools! Which tool should i use from hirens to test the hard drive for failure outside of windows and safe mode? i am assuming i can use the seagate tool
sergios is offline  
Old 04-21-2015, 12:16 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


We can not recommend nor support the use of Hirens Boot CD at TSF due to software copy write infringement.

The Ubuntu Live CD also allows you to do HDD diagnostics. Windows chkdsk (Hirens Boot CD has a illegal copy of Windows XP in it) does not it only test for bad sectors and moves any data in those bad sectors if possible else where.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture1.JPG
Views:	46
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	229777  
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 5100 Laptop Black screen after upgrading to 4GB RAM
Hello. I have an Acer Aspire 5100 laptop with Windows XP Media Center Edition. This past weekend, I tried to upgrade to 4GB of RAM. After replacing the old RAM sticks with the new, I am getting nothing but a black screen after turning on my laptop. The mouse and keyboard I usually keep plugged in...
CMichael Laptop Support 2 08-02-2011 07:49 PM
Acer Aspire 5520g Black Screen
Hi, I have an Acer Aspire 5520g running Windows Vista. A few days ago I tried starting my laptop as usual, but all that appeared was a black screen. The power light comes on and everything sounds normal but nothing on the screen. I tried connecting it up to my tv to see if its just a problem...
fawzinator Video Card Support 1 06-26-2011 07:10 PM
Acer Aspire 5920G - Black Screen...with a hook
Hello I'd like to start by saying I wasn't sure wether to post this here, look it up on the Hard Drive section or post it somewhere else so to the admin, if this isn't the right place, feel free to close or move this topic. With that said, to my problem. As mentioned, I'm having issues...
Luminarc Laptop Support 15 06-25-2011 03:07 AM
acer aspire 5520 / black screen not doing anything
I own an acer aspire 5520. Love it, but theres a slight problem. Yesterday i shut it down like always but this morning it did not start up. The green light of the power button is on, and you can hear the CD drive do something but thats it. the screen stays pitch black. After some research...
TwiiCe Laptop Support 1 06-19-2011 11:14 AM
Black Screen - Acer Aspire 5100
Hey, My Acer Aspire 5100, without previous warning of trouble, doesn't boot anymore. I press the power button, it goes green, the fan works, but nothing more happens than a black screen. I've searched the forum and the web and it seems a bios issue. I've already tried to remove RAM,...
MMestre Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 04-02-2011 09:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts