Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

2 fresh W7 installs. cpu won't boot or safe

This is a discussion on 2 fresh W7 installs. cpu won't boot or safe within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. started having problems thursday night. I'm pretty sure I had some malware. I was getting a " Dcom Server Process


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2011, 07:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: win 7 32bit



started having problems thursday night. I'm pretty sure I had some malware. I was getting a "Dcom Server Process Launcher Terminated Unexpectedly" message common with malware, so assumed that was the case. I had done some torrenting that week, i must have picked up something.

I scanned the pc with malwarebytes, spybot, and the eset online scanner and found nothing. So i reinstalled windows with a full format of my hard drive.

Got everything up and running again, played brink for a few hours and it freezes after a sleep session and subsequently won't boot. It won't go to safe mode or anything. the only windows i can get to is the boot repair screens that scan and return no help.

So today i reinstalled again (format again) and after getting up and running for some hours it starts having a few errors. I reboot it and the boot problems return and I can't get to any form of windows, safe mode or command prompt.

As i'm typing this topic on my laptop the pc in question boots to windows. I come to this site to get the downloads for the reports to run for spy/malware, and windows explorer has stopped responding, it restarts, over and over. I can't even click the start menu all it can do is close and try to restart windows explorer in a loop.

Can malware persist after a format? What on earth is going on here?
crue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2011, 12:22 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



did you format the drive prior to installing win7? after reinstalling, did you go to the computer manufacturers website, search for your specific computer and download the latest drivers for your system?

you can also run HDDScan on your drive to see if it is going bad.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 05-15-2011, 05:57 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
sirtokesalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 610
OS: windows 7

My System


a freind of mine had a simalar issue not long ago where the power connectors to the hdd's were going bad and lossing connections he replaced the power connectors for the hdd's and the issue went away. im not saying that this is your issue but its worth takin a look to see if any connections have come loose
sirtokesalot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2011, 02:43 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: win 7 32bit



Thanks for the responses!

I formatted both times prior to the installations. Each time i got mouse, keyboard, and video card drivers up to date. I can't seem to get to any form of command prompt to run chkdisk or anything.

I checked the hard drive power cables, and when i booted it wouldnt detect the raid (2 hds). So i check the cables a few more times and can get it to detect them, but the original symptoms are still there of course. So the cables or the drives certainly could be faulty. I hear the drives make some strange noises sometimes on boot.

2 other things:
got a BSOD during a windows session:
STOP: 0X000000F4 (0X00000003, 0X8E81AD40, 0X8E81AEAC, 0X8AA2CD50)
was the error message.

Also when i installed windows both times i had a mysterious 11 MB partition of my C: drive. from the windows install screen i couldn't remove it or anything. Thought this was kinda shady.

Thanks for the help.
crue is offline  
Old 05-15-2011, 02:53 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



Quote:
Originally Posted by crue View Post
Thanks for the responses!

I formatted both times prior to the installations. Each time i got mouse, keyboard, and video card drivers up to date. I can't seem to get to any form of command prompt to run chkdisk or anything.
but you can run chkdisk and the drive test from an os disk also hddscan is an iso file so you can boot to it from a cd too.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 08:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: win 7 32bit



ran chkdsk and the support mode memory test and found no errors. Windows will commonly boot now and subsquently gets stuck in a "windows explorer has stopped resopnding" and "windows explorer is now restarting" loop.

hddscan wouldnt run from the os disk command prompt.
crue is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access sata boot drive in another cpu?
Hi, I've a Vista 64bit laptop who's motherboard just died. While under repair can I take the SATA boot drive, mount into a usb/firewire desktop enclosure and access my files on another windows system, without damaging the normal boot functions of the drive? Ie I'd like to access some files...
eat_technical Hard Drive Support 3 02-20-2011 10:31 AM
big and weird issue. doesn't boot
Hello everyone. I am new on the forum. first oif all, i want to apologize for my english. You may find gramatical errors :laugh: So, here's the thing. yesterday my pc begun to suddenly shutdown itself, without any messages, like if someone umplugged the power supply. in the first hour when the...
falconsito Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 02-01-2011 04:50 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Installed a new cpu, computer wont boot.
Ok, basically today my new cpu arrived and i'd tried installing it, after putting it in, checking everything was done right I went to boot up and all i would get is the power supply turning on and the cpu fan running and thats it. I've tried literally everything, ive done the bench test, i...
profash Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 01-28-2011 11:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts