Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Yet another Dell 9100 with power issues, would love some help.

This is a discussion on Yet another Dell 9100 with power issues, would love some help. within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Long story sh..long- I've got a Dell 9100 that has been operating just fine till a few days ago. Ran


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Long story sh..long-

I've got a Dell 9100 that has been operating just fine till a few days ago. Ran a malwarebytes scan and it froze up, so I decided to power down via holding down on the power button to restart. The computer then failed to restart again.

Opened the computer up, horribly dusty. Cleaned out/inspected the motherboard and all other components - no bad caps, nothing looking fried.

No green or amber light on the power button (though see below), no diagnostic lights or beeps... Just plain nothing. Of course on the motherboard the little led lights up but that's it.

I did all of the tests... Paperclip test - power supply works. Tried my multi meter and also borrowed a psu tester and both showed proper voltages within tolerances. Then I tried jumping paperclip test style, but I put the clip on the back side of the plug so I could still plug it in to the board. This produced a solid amber power button light, and diagnostic lights 1,2, and 3 lit up, but that was it. Then I tried unplugging the dvd/cd drives and took out all but 1 stick of ram, and still no start up.

Does this sound like the i/o switch being dead, or the motherboard?

What else might I try to diagnose, or are these clear signs of something in particular being faulty?

Thanks in advance!
Evil Abed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2012, 05:59 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Testing a PSU without a load is inconclusive.
You can bypass the Power button by jumping the tho Power pins on the Mobo.
Do you have or can you borrow a known good PSU to try?



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Whoops... Forgot that detail, I grabbed an old hard drive and plugged that in to the power supply during testing. That counts as a decent load on the supply right?

I have a few old computers that I could probably grab a supply from. Shouldn't be an issue if they're lower power if I only plug in the mobo and hd right?
Evil Abed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2012, 11:36 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



That would depend on what if any video card you have.

Check the capacitors on the motherboard for any signs of domed tops, swelling, leakage, loose or missing cans > Badcaps.net - How To Identify

9100's, 9150's, XPS 400's & 410's are getting to known for cap issues.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



I do have a video card, nothing high powered or special... just something that came with the computer.

Caps are all good, I've deal with my share of bad caps in other devices.
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 01:12 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Try it see if it boots.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 01:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Try a different psu with it you mean? Ok, I'll try that.
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 06-27-2012, 02:05 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Yep that's what I meant.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 12:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Managed to find a used power supply that was lower powered than the current psu, and installed it just to test... Seems everything works again!

So I assume that means it was the psu right? Now I can go find a similar one that's the same or slightly higher powered and it, in theory, should be good to go right?
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 12:27 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Yep that's what it means, put something decent in it. > Newegg.com - SeaSonic S12II 430B 430W ATX12V V2.3/EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 12:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



I love newegg, is that an affiliate link where you guys will get some sort of credit/money for recommending them (I actually hope it is, you've been very helpful)?
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 01:19 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Nope doesn't work that way here, simply good service at a reasonable price.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 04:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Much appreciated! Just had another computer act up with issues, this time my parent's box.

What section should I post in to ask about things like everything disappearing from their desktop?
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 05:05 PM   #14
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



XP or Win7/Vista support is a place to start> Microsoft Support - Tech Support Forum
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 04:39 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Received and installed the new psu, it's great. 2 new things have started happening.

On startup, the computer says something about a floppy drive error (there's never been one in this box). F1 to continue, F2 to setup. I've setup and tried to get it to ignore the floppy test during boot, seems to still happen.

Also, now the fan attached to the heat sink really kicks in/is loud whenever the cpu is doing anything more than idling. This fan was near silent before. Any ideas? Might it be overcompensating to cool the cpu since I didn't re-apply thermal paste? Seemed like there was already some on there and I figured it was enough.
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 04:45 PM   #16
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Boot to the Bios and Disable the Floppy drive and/or remove it from the boot list.
Whenever the contact between the CPU and the CPU heatsink is disturbed the thermal paste needs to be reapplied.
Thoroughly remove all the old paste from both areas with 90% alcohol and apply fresh paste. Any PC shop should have thermal paste in stock.



Tyree is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 04:47 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
OS: xp



Alright will do, do you think that's the issue here? Or the logical next step to see if it eliminates the problem I suppose...
Evil Abed is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 05:02 PM   #18
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Most likely the thermal paste is the issue.

Does the PC keep the correct date and time after being shut down?

If not check the coin cell battery is tight in the holder if not the bios setting will revert to defaults anytime power is removed.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Demension C521 Blinking Yellow Power
I have a Deminsion C521 that just failed. The power light blinks yellow and I am assuming either the power supply or MB has failed. I am not having success checking the power supply. I disconnected the ATX cable and attached a PS tester. The tester does not light up and only briefly when I press...
Duxdad Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 08-01-2012 12:41 PM
Possible bad Dell power supply confirmation
Hi all, I have a dell xps 400 computer that will not power up. The symptoms are: 1. Power lamp flashes amber when depressed to power up. 2. Fans or drives do not start. 3. One light on the mother board illuminates green and has the title: AUX_POWER_LED. 4. The flashing amber light...
Outbackcamprd RAM and Power Supply Support 9 12-11-2011 04:29 AM
Dell DCTA desktop won't power on
I have a Dell DCTA desktop (OS is XP Home) that is giving me problems. Over the past few months, from time to time, when powering on, the system would not power up...just got a blinking amber light on the front panel. After a few tries, the thing would power on and give me a good solid green. Now,...
loweryd RAM and Power Supply Support 2 10-28-2011 06:18 AM
HP Power Issues
Greetings everyone, I've had a power issue with my HP DV6000 laptop for sometime now. When I plug it in the blue light at the plug entry illuminates, but not the one at the front of the computer showing it has power. It wont charge the battery or power on the laptop. I bought a new battery,...
jtj05260 Laptop Support 0 01-03-2011 03:31 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts