User Tag List

xp RAM help

This is a discussion on xp RAM help within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i just upgraded from 2 gigs of RAM to 4 gigs, but xp only picks up 3.5 gigs, and some


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2009, 10:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Zombeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 364
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


i just upgraded from 2 gigs of RAM to 4 gigs, but xp only picks up 3.5 gigs, and some stuff only reads 2 and i get other readings, why wont it pick up all 4, is it because i have 32 bit, or just because i don't have vista
Zombeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2009, 05:17 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 145
OS:



Yes your problem is with XP. I read it a while back but if you put 4GB of ram in a computer using Windows XP O/S, it will only see like 3.2GB max.
Moto_Terminator is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 07:55 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Neither XP or vista 32 bit will use more then 3.5, vista with SP1 installed will report that 4 gig is installed but will only actually use 3.5 or so, its a limitation of the 32 bit operating system
Doby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2009, 01:43 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 92
OS: Windows XP Pro x64 sp2

My System


go to x64 bit OS and use all of the 4 gigs. That is the only way.
AlienMenace is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:25 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Zombeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 364
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


i heard that nvidia drivers arent really too solid for 64 bit though, and is 64 bit better for gaming cause i do lots of gaming, and for me to switch to 64 bit would be a big thing with all the stuff on my HD
Zombeast is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:09 AM   #6
af3
White Hat ;)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,234
OS: XPSP3

My System


Beware of Vista 64. There are many new security features that greatly limit what you can do with the operating system. For example, you may have problems with software that rely on kernel hooks or modifications to function properly thanks to the Patch Guard feature.
af3 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:54 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Zombeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 364
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


i am staying away from vista. i used to use it and i have had nothing but problems so i switched to XP and all my problems were fixed, but is xp 64 bit good for gaming, or should i just stick with 32 bit and not worry
Zombeast is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:59 AM   #8
af3
White Hat ;)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,234
OS: XPSP3

My System


You could get a RAM drive and set your paging file to run on that so it would be like having a few extra GB of RAM. I wonder if anyone has tried that trick...
af3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts