Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Won't turn on - maybe PSU?

This is a discussion on Won't turn on - maybe PSU? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, My computer is always on, but my monitor was behaving strangely this AM and the auto-config and manual config


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Hi,

My computer is always on, but my monitor was behaving strangely this AM and the auto-config and manual config options weren't fixing it, so I shut down before going into work.

Upon arriving home, my tower would not turn back on. Since I rarely turn the system off, and it had been running fine previously I thought the power button going could be the solution but my troubleshooting seems to, well - I don't know what it all indicates, that's why I'm asking you guys

If I disconnect the 20-pin connector from the motherboard and reconnect it, the motherboard LED stays solid green, then, if I press the power button, the LED blinks (and my speakers seem to pulse along with this).

I'd read that if you suspect a bum power button that you could unhook the power button connection from the motherboard and try to bridge that connection with metal - I just touched the two pins with the end of a stainless steel letter opener and nothing happened.

What should my next step be?
Jaramini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2012, 01:26 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



I'd get another PSU and replace the old one. That will at least tell you if it is the PSU.
JMPC is offline  
Old 05-14-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



When I built the computer the PSU was 20 pins but motherboard was 24 and so I reused an old PSU I had, but saved the new PSU (it was part of a bundled kit). Dug the PSU out of the attic and finally figured out how to make it fit and things are solved.

I suppose I mostly found it weird that things were working this morning and then it's dead when I come home.

Thanks.
Jaramini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2012, 04:22 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



PSU's, as with any component, can fail at any time.
Hopefully the replacement PSU is a good quality (bundles commonly include low quality PSU's) unit with sufficient power for your hardware.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with simple Java game
Hello TSF, I've been learning Java recently, and I've been developing a small game that I've been having some problems with now that I'm in beta. It's mostly for me to test my skills, and I really didn't want to have to ask for help, but I can't figure this out for the life of me. So the way the...
Crockeo Programming 11 10-10-2012 06:06 PM
PSU working but computer does not turn on
The reset button on the front panel of the case does not turn on the computer (LED's on front do not flash, no internal sound of fans are heard, no signal on monitor). However when I opened up the case and switched on the power supply a green LED on the motherboard turns on, but also the PSU fan...
The Natural RAM and Power Supply Support 10 04-09-2012 10:20 AM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts