Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Windows 7-64bit Games not using 'Free' RAM

This is a discussion on Windows 7-64bit Games not using 'Free' RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For some reason my games dont use the free RAM available and i receive very low fps in games .


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2016, 06:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7-64bit



For some reason my games dont use the free RAM available and i receive very low fps in games . They use only like 1.7 - 2 GB of RAm and like 4 GB of RAM is left free.What can i do to make them use the free RAM also ?
(The screenshot shows the RAM usage of crysis 3 )

Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460 @ 3.20GHz
Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM
8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H81M-S (SOCKET 0)
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Gigabyte)
4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 (ZOTAC International)

Click image for larger version

Name:	Resource Monitor.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	822.9 KB
ID:	280698
uk8172 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2016, 07:24 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,323
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Games don't use the physical RAM of your system.....they use the RAM off of your GPU. In your case it using the GPU off of your CPU, the Intel HD Graphics 4600.

What you need to is if your running games off your APU or your GPU. Do that in the BIOS by disabling the onboard graphics (the intel HD 4600) and set the GTX 730 as the primary GPU.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 05-05-2016, 07:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7-64bit



I did still the same. Still on 15-20 fps only
uk8172 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2016, 07:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7-64bit



i tried but still on 15-20 fps
uk8172 is offline  
Old 05-05-2016, 08:00 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 37
OS: Windows 10 Pro/Windows Vista Ultimate SP2



Enter your BIOS and disable onboard graphics and then get into safe mode and do a CLEAN DRIVER REINSTALL. Follow this easy guide:

"Clean" graphics driver install in Windows 7, 8.1 or 10. - Clean Install - Windows 10
slumber94 is offline  
Old 05-05-2016, 08:33 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


15-20 FPS might be all you can get, depending on the exact specs of the 730 GT and your chosen screen resolution.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!
Im unable to complete the gmer scan. It wont allow me to copy the results of the scan to submit to you guys. What do I do now?
REDLEG Resolved HJT Threads 49 12-15-2013 02:15 PM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 05:31 PM
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
BSOD Help
Computer is giving bsod, i have attached a bsod zip file of the 3 bsod mini dumps. thanks Summary Operating System MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 CPU
dunz BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 03-12-2012 07:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts