Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

windows 10 on new PC, crashes regularly, "memory_management" error

This is a discussion on windows 10 on new PC, crashes regularly, "memory_management" error within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, so installed windows 10 on new PC, crashes regularly, indicates "memory_management" on blue screen of death...so i ran memtest86,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2016, 06:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 77
OS: win7



Hi,

so installed windows 10 on new PC, crashes regularly, indicates "memory_management" on blue screen of death...so i ran memtest86, although not entirely sure how to interpret screens.

question:
how long to run memtest86? (been running it over night and still going)
does memtest86 ever stop?
see screen dumps below, what is wrong?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12899726_10156692676080402_573475925_n.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	275985  
saj1011 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2016, 09:12 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,009
OS: Win7



It appears you have over 65,000 errors. 1 is all you need to see to know something is wrong with the ram.

Assuming you have multiple ram sticks remove all but 1 and est them 1 at a time, if only on tests bad then you have a bad stick and will need to replace it, if all test bad then providing it's not a OEM machine you'll need to check the ram settings//voltages to make sure they are what's recommended for the ram.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 09:54 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 77
OS: win7



2*4 gb crucial ballistix 1866 sticks, removed the one in 3rd ram slot, now all good.
new ram though, i wonder if it could be slot, will try and test it...or need to replace it then :-(
Also, if slot issue then i can do slot 2+4 to keep dual channel memory.
Apparently only 5% performance gain if not use dual channel memory, not sure if true though?
thanks for any tips!
saj1011 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2016, 09:57 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,323
OS: Windows 10 Pro



You need to check your mobo manual for RAM slot placement... all are different. On my mobo...for dual channel I have to use slots 2 and 4.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 01:07 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,009
OS: Win7



Did you check both sticks in the 1st slot?
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FBI.Cybercrime lock-out
Hello and thank you in advance for helping me. I am locked out of my computer with a notice from "FBI.Cybercrime" to pay a fine or the FBI will be here to haul me off to prison. I received a suggestion that through Bleeping Computers I would find the instructions to follow for self help removal...
Cathy95820 Resolved HJT Threads 34 05-06-2013 03:49 AM
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 08:22 PM
Virus redirecting all of my pages.
My computer is completely screwed! First no sound now this! Almost every time I try to do something on the internet my page is getting redirected to something else! I always have to rush to click the X button to stop the page from loading. But I want a permanent fix! Please help.
TheresMoreToMe Resolved HJT Threads 26 01-26-2011 04:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts