Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Will this work?

This is a discussion on Will this work? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, I use to have 4gb ram in my computer but it was the slow 266mhz one from crucial


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2009, 02:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 34
OS: Media Center Edition



Hey guys, I use to have 4gb ram in my computer but it was the slow 266mhz one from crucial so i decided to take it out and put in my two 512mb that are 533mhz each and run in dual channel.... I was wondering if 2gb(not 2 X 1gb) ram sticks would work in my pc or if i am stuck to using 1gb to each slot.

My computer is a HP M7170N

I was wondering which would be the best to buy

https://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-2GB-2-X-1GB-...3A1%7C294%3A50

or

https://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-4GB-2-x-2GB-...3A1%7C294%3A50

I'm not sure if my computer will allow 2gb per slot thats the problem

my mother board is a asustek lithium 1.05 i945p

also will this ram be good for gaming?

I know these are good prices but does anyone know a website that offers better prices? i spent 80$ on 3gb ram at crucual about 8 months ago for slow ram so i don't really feel like spending another 60
jpdaballa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2009, 04:19 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


Run crucials scanner:
https://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/
speedster123 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:07 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 34
OS: Media Center Edition



https://www.crucial.com/systemscanner...1A342031D926C3

I just called crucial and talk to them over then phone, we made an agreement I am mailing back my 3gb ram that i purchased from them, and they are sending me back 4gb of faster ram for $30.

now i am left with a ram that i bought from 4allmemory that i will sell on ebay for $15. which means i paid $15 for faster ram.

for this I have to say crucial has good customer service and I recomend buying from them.

It says that the memory is ddr2 667, does this mean it will run at 667mhz at 5 clocks?
jpdaballa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts