Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

whats the best ram upgrade for me?

This is a discussion on whats the best ram upgrade for me? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. here my pc HP Pavilion a6518f Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (Canada - English) ive upgaded my power supply


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2011, 07:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



here my pc HP Pavilion a6518f Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (Canada - English) ive upgaded my power supply and my video card my video card is a radeon hd 5770 and i would like to know what would be the best ram upgrade for me
Memziii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2011, 07:58 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


Hi Memziii,

You can go here and see what type and how much you can upgrade too. RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-11-2011, 08:16 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



it's telling me that my max upgrade is 4gb and i already have 3 i wanted to get 8 at least is it possible?
Memziii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2011, 08:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



Never mind their is a quick tip thing and it's exactly what i wanted thank you very much that was fast
Memziii is offline  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:02 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


your welcome, are you using a 32bit or 64 bit system.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-11-2011, 10:31 AM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



4GB (2X2GB matched pair) is more than sufficient for any game and most all apps.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



ive installed my new ram memory but it's telling me 8gb but 3.25 usable how can i fix that? here a pic

Memziii is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:30 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



i am using 32 bit right now
Memziii is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:37 AM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


then 4 gb is the most you can upgrade too. as tyree said 4GB is sufficient for any game and most apps.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:42 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bloodymore, Murderland
Posts: 1,086
OS: Windows 10 Home



Umm ... this is not where I posted this post :) someone moved it?
***
What is your operating system? 32-bit Win7 can only address ~4GB of total memory (2^32 = 4,294,967,296 addresses). Shared video memory I believe is included in that amount, and probably something else as well, so if you have 32-bit OS then about 3.25 GB RAM is all you'll be able to use.

It'll register it as installed, but, won't be able to use it.

To fix, upgrade to a 64-bit version of windows.

jw

PS -- what are you doing with your computer? No games and few apps use more than 3 GB of memory, so unless you're video editing, photo editing/rendering, etc. 8 GB is overkill...
jaythorpe522 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:47 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


threads merged, please do not make multiple threads on same subject
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:48 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bloodymore, Murderland
Posts: 1,086
OS: Windows 10 Home



oh :)
jaythorpe522 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
OS: win 7



ok thank you i will upgarde to 64 bit then with a clean install thank you very much for all your help
Memziii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACERPOWER F6 - RAM UPGRADE
Hi guys i have been looking around about upgrading my ram since its very poor on a 256mb I have checked to see if my computer can hold 1-2GB and by the looks of things it can Link here So im looking around and i don't really fancy paying 20 for 2gb ram and just wondering is there any...
Liamxo RAM and Power Supply Support 3 08-13-2011 07:14 AM
P4S800 Motherboard RAM upgrade help
I have decided to upgrade my computer and not build a new computer which after I tell you about it may seem like a poor desicion but I dont have the money for anything else. Motherboard: ASUS P4S800 SiS Chipset SIS648FX SIS963L and Socket 478 Ram: Super Talent 512MB DDR400 PC3200 PSU:...
rburke0690 RAM and Power Supply Support 7 05-13-2011 01:39 PM
RAM upgrade - 266 or 533mhz? PC2-4300 or 4200?
I want to upgrade the RAM in a Toshiba Satellite M70 SR3 Laptop. SIW diagnostic software gives me the follwing info about the current RAM: Capacity: 512MB; Type: DDR2 (PC2-4300); Speed: 266Mhz (DDR2 533); Supported Frequencies: 200.0 MHz, 266.7 MHz, 266.7 MHz. The CPU is an Intel Pentium M...
dave_t0661 RAM and Power Supply Support 1 02-21-2011 10:07 AM
Upgrade RAM on Macbook Pro 17
Hi folks, Im new to this site, but have been looking around for a good forum that would help me out in search of upgrading my RAM for my 2010 MBP. My Specs: Model Name: MacBook Pro 17" Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,2 Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor Speed: ...
avalanchehockey Mac Support 3 02-12-2011 07:43 PM
[SOLVED] ram upgrade problems
Hi there I was wondering if u could help with a problem I'm having. I have tried to upgrade my ram and nothing happens when I power on. No error beeps an no power to keyboard or monitor I switched back to old ram sticks that were working and now have the same problem. Any help would be...
billb1983 RAM and Power Supply Support 7 02-10-2011 02:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts