Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

What The Heck?

This is a discussion on What The Heck? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just purchase a blu-ray burner. I powered down the FX computer listed in my specs, and removed my DVD


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2016, 07:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

EEK!

I just purchase a blu-ray burner. I powered down the FX computer listed in my specs, and removed my DVD burner and replaced it with the blu ray. Went to boot up .... nothing ... no power. I figured it had to be something simple since it was working fine before I shut down. I checked all my connections, I disconnected the blu ray burner and try to boot up ... nothing. I checked the UPS it was working. I changed to a different outlet on the UPS ... still no power. So I pulled out the PS and put in a back up PS and I have power again ... I got that PS back in July and it's already gone bad. Dang I replaced my main computer power supply with that same model. I hope this was a fluke. Can't return it to newegg, but it is still under warranty. Just can't believe it went out without warning.
spirittoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2016, 06:03 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you check to be sure the on/of switch on the PS had not been inadvertently turned off? ( not all power supplies have a switch )
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 11-20-2016, 06:18 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Big Prairie Mi.
Posts: 1,551
OS: win7-64, BSD and no more 10

My System


Had someone bring a system over with a similar issue, in that case they had pulled the power switch connection off the motherboard enough that it wasn't making connection, but still stayed in place.
kendallt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2016, 06:55 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
in that case they had pulled the power switch connection off the motherboard enough that it wasn't making connection, but still stayed in place.
But that run to the case's front panel switch, not the PSU so simply swapping out PSUs would not affect that unless the wires were accidently pushed back in proper place when the 2nd supply went in. In that case, putting the original PSU back should result in a working computer.

Quote:
Can't return it to newegg, but it is still under warranty. Just can't believe it went out without warning.
Since you appear to be comfortable swapping in and out components, I recommend you "invest" in a good PSU Tester. The advantage of this model is that it has a LCD readout of the voltages instead of basic LED indicators. With an actual voltage readout, you have a better chance of detecting a "failing" PSU, or one barely within the required ±5% tolerances (see below) as specified in the ATX Form Factor PSU Design Guide (see “Table 2. DC Output Voltage Regulation” on Page 13). Note that none of these type testers test for excessive ripple and other anomalies that affect computer stability. And they only provide a small "dummy load", not a variety of "realistic" loads a computer places on a supply. So while better than nothing, using one of these testers is not a conclusive test. This is done by a qualified technician using an oscilloscope or power supply analyzer - sophisticated (and expensive) electronic test equipment requiring special training to operate, and a basic knowledge of electronics theory to understand the results. Therefore, conclusively testing a power supply is done in properly equipped electronics repair facilities. This is why swapping in a known good spare is typically the best way for "normal" users to verify a PSU is good or bad.

Note these testers are also great when using a spare PSU for testing fans and drive motors outside the case as they signal the PSU to turn on when plugged in to the main PSU connector.


ATX Form Factor Standard allowed voltage ranges:
12VDC ±5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC
5VDC ±5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC
3.3VDC ±5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-20-2016, 09:07 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
Did you check to be sure the on/of switch on the PS had not been inadvertently turned off? ( not all power supplies have a switch )
There was no switch on this unit. I checked everything before I pulled it. It apparently has died, and I can't believe it did that. Contacted Rosewill to find out the procedure to have it replaced under the warranty.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 11-20-2016, 09:09 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallt View Post
Had someone bring a system over with a similar issue, in that case they had pulled the power switch connection off the motherboard enough that it wasn't making connection, but still stayed in place.
I checked that too. Everything was connected and in place.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 11-20-2016, 07:17 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


If it had no on/off switch I would bet it was really cheap and that is the last place you want to save money on a component.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-21-2016, 09:57 AM   #8
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
If it had no on/off switch I would bet it was really cheap
And/or really old. But your point is the same; time to shop for a new PSU.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-21-2016, 12:51 PM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Not to beat the subject to death but maybe old and cheap?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 07:00 AM   #10
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Maybe. I don't buy old or cheap PSUs so I wouldn't know. Next time I am at Wal-mart, I'll try to remember to take a look at their budget PCs and see if any of those supplies have a master power switch on back. Personally, I think it should be an ATX Form Factor standard requirement, but it is not. And there are no revisions to the standards on the horizon either.

IMO, it should be a safety standard but it might add a whopping $.50 to the production cost of the supply! And I think their argument would be if you need to get your hands back there to flip the switch, it would be easier to find the detachable power cord and yank it out than it is to find, then flip the switch.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 08:59 AM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Bill if you look at branded desktops they almost never have on/off switches on them and remember all the junk makers making their psus are Delta, Best-ec and the other names escape me at the moment.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 09:40 AM   #12
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Yeah, I think cutting budget corners on power supplies is a sad but common practice among factory makers (and sadly, many self-builders too).
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 10:47 AM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Quite true and it could well be the second most important in the unit if not the most important and that is a real shame. Sometimes I am amazed how long the junk in branded towers actually last.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 12:47 PM   #14
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
Sometimes I am amazed how long the junk in branded towers actually last.
That's actually part of the problem. There are 10-12 year old computers out there still chugging along with junk inside. To top it off, many of those have never ever been opened up for cleaning. If someone did open them up just to clean, they would need a putty knife, chisel and hammer, and a can of engine degreaser and a serious air compressor. Then the computer probably would go into shock at being so clean, have a heart attack and die on the spot! ;)
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 01:36 PM   #15
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Don't laugh I have had nearly that happen Bill where cleaning the pc was such a shock I could not get it to boot again without replacing half the parts which is never worth it.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 01:51 PM   #16
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


So have I. The worst are those where the owners smoke and have cats. Not only was I amazed the PSU was still going, but that the CPU had not overheated and died years back. The fans were so caked they could barely spin. And the heatsinks so clogged, they were like solid blocks of greasy fur balls.

Being allergic to cats, I used to lug those systems outside to blast with an air compressor and wore a surgical mask and gloves. Then took a shower after. No kidding.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-22-2016, 05:30 PM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Yeah reminds me of the desktop in a restaurant in the kitchen. I had to take the thing back to my shop and soak many of the parts in ammonia and scrub others I could not soak and I could not believe the thing would start and run like that though obviously not very well.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-23-2016, 08:30 AM   #18
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Yeah, kitchen environments are horrible - especially if they do a lot of frying.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:43 AM   #19
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 12,283
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


One thing that I hadn't seen mentioned above and have had the occasion to suffer both on my PC and on customers PC's at work .. is the mains cable at the back of the power supply requiring a nudge to make proper contact .. sometimes a replacement cable was in order .. On power supply that is used just to power extra Hard Disks that sit outside my rig doesn't always power on when I turn on the bench power. A gentle wiggle of the power cable going into it brings it back to life .. but then I have to restart my PC so that the drives are recognised ..

Liek I say .. I have seen this on many occasions over the years.
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES


HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner



How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How (the HECK) do I stop Outlook2013 resizing images that I have inserted ?
Hi Can anyone tell me how (the HECK) to stop Outlook 2013 resizing all images that I insert into the body of emails? I have had this problem for MANY YEARS. :banghead: My JPEG image has an internal DPI setting of 96. My GIF images do not have any internal DPI setting. Reluctantly I...
ship69 Microsoft Office support 46 11-02-2015 09:35 AM
[SOLVED] Let's build a desktop, what the heck
Hey guys, I'm looking to build a new desktop for the first time. (great recommended build sticky by Masterchief, by the way!) I've always gone Dell so I thought it might be fun and a good learning experience to build one. Don't really have a particular game or application I'm trying to...
esark33 Building 33 11-11-2013 04:28 PM
Ugh... What the heck is up with my wifi?
I haven't been having trouble connecting my devices to my home wi-fi at all until the last couple of days. Up to now, it's been fine. For some reason, though, every few hours, my Android devices just refuse to connect to my wi-fi anymore, and I have to reset my wireless router in order to get them...
indestructible Networking Support 12 05-31-2013 05:46 PM
Where the heck should I get my new PC?
I have made a thread a while ago about this ongoing flaw over my first PC build. There was much time expended on replacement requests and after months of issues, the ultimate problem was missing standoffs in the case causing a short on the mobo. This caused both the board and the power supply to...
Vyacheslav Offline 10 04-02-2013 06:40 AM
What the heck is /FS
I had some cd's that read bad. Did a complete erase with Windows XP Burn. Wanted to format the cd's so I went into cmd and typed format E: which is the drive where the cd is. The screen comes up saying The type of file system is raw. Please use the /FS switch to specify the file system you wish to...
satisfier23 Removable Media Drives 3 01-30-2011 08:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts