Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Using two non-identical RAM Modules

This is a discussion on Using two non-identical RAM Modules within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good day TSF! I need advice on purchasing Memory Modules to be paired with my existing setup. I have, 4GB


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2018, 05:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Good day TSF!

I need advice on purchasing Memory Modules to be paired with my existing setup. I have, 4GB DDR4 2133 MHz G.Skill Aegis (Single Stick).

Should I buy slightly used 4GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury with Heat Spreader in lesser price, or a brand new 4GB DDR4 G.Skill Aegis?
xtechnouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2018, 08:57 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Going by the title of this thread, you seem to already know that it's highly recommended to use identical ram modules (same make, model and if possible, product number). While you can mix memory modules of different brands and models, they may not work well together, hence that recommendation, so the real question is, do you wanna risk buying the cheaper option and hope that it will work with your current setup?
Stancestans is offline  
Old 05-13-2018, 10:01 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


As hardware becomes more and more complex through the years, I feel it is more and more important to match ram not mix it and given the choise you gave us I would always prefer GSkill ram to Hyer-X Kingston anyway as Kingston Hyper-X ram I have found is a very difficult ram to work with to begin with.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2018, 08:39 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


"In theory" you can mix and match all you want assuming each RAM type is compatible with that specific motherboard (be sure to check your motherboard's QVL - qualified vendors list - on the board's website).

"In reality", the newer your hardware, more likely your mixed devices will work together. This is because manufacturing techniques have vastly improved over the years to where RAM coming off the production lines matches published specifications much more precisely than in past years - even if from different vendors.

But theory and reality don't always jive. And until Man can create perfection 100% of the time, there will always be imperfections in manufacturing and in the raw materials too.

So as suggested above, it is always best to buy matched sets to ensure not only compatibility, but also optimal performance (working in dual-channel, for example).

In fact, I often recommend users toss the old RAM and buy all new in matched sets when upgrading just to ensure compatibility. Buying all new RAM at the same time means you are more likely to get RAM made in the same production run/lot for even greater chances of compatibility.

BTW, I note you did not specify the speed of the Kingston RAM. Is it 2133MHz too?
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sporadic Google Redirect
Hello, I'm getting sporadic Google redirects. When I click on a Google search result, sometimes I get re-directed to some other site not related to what I clicked on. This started happening after I updated to Firefox 8. I tried to run GMER, but I got a blue screen error after about 6hrs of...
hayden52 Resolved HJT Threads 35 11-23-2011 06:42 PM
Windows Vista Recovery virus
Greetings. First time poster here. Today I encountered this issue. I read a few other posts he that retold me to run the unhide .exe so my screen is no longer blank. In addition, one of the threads I had been following here instructs me to get the volsnap.sys file and put it on my Desktop and then...
bluehens214 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 70 06-17-2011 09:21 PM
Major System Tools problems...
Hi there, I seem to have contracted this rather pesky system tools virus onto my machine. I was realy hoping one of you could advise me hoe to remove it? I attempted to run through the instructions you gave before posting on here however none of the programs you mention will run as i simply...
thesaint4real Inactive Malware Help Topics 12 04-02-2011 09:44 PM
Redirecting and virus problems
My computer is redirecting and im sure i have a virus. When i try to run gmer it shuts my computer down even when only checking sections and c drive. Here is the logs that i could get. Thanks in advance. Timmy This is not the same computer as my previous problems. Thanks timmy DDS...
toliver30471 Resolved HJT Threads 21 02-23-2011 05:09 PM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts