Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Using Kingston USB stick as RAM

This is a discussion on Using Kingston USB stick as RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, I have 4GB RAM on my laptop but I keep running out of memory, I am trying to use


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2016, 10:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
OS: XP



Hey,

I have 4GB RAM on my laptop but I keep running out of memory, I am trying to use my USB stick with readyboost - I have it set to "Use this device" and 4092mb allocated.

Nothing is showing up in the computer properties shows 4gb RAM installed as well as the task manager - Should it be showing the USB / Readyboost RAM in these?

Would there be any reason the stick wouldnt work as RAM? It is working fine for file transfers etc.

Thanks!
John D2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2016, 01:33 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


You're a little confused as to what ReadyBoost does. It does not use a USB thumb drive as RAM. When ReadyBoost is enabled, Windows stores Superfetch data on the thumb drive which effectively frees up system RAM, thus possibly speeding up the system.
__________________
Defending freedom of expression in the face of oppression is noble.
Insisting on the right to be obnoxious and offensive just because you can is infantile.
gcavan is offline  
Old 12-24-2016, 08:00 AM   #3
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
thus possibly speeding up the system
"Possibly" being the operative word. ReadyBoost never panned out to be the performance enhancer many hoped for - except for systems with a tiny amount of system RAM.

While 4GB of RAM is not considered a lot these days, it is not a small amount by any means. ReadyBoost is really for systems with a small amount of RAM - like 1GB or less. And in fact, because the USB interface is so much slower than RAM itself, and because memory sticks are no speed demons either, you might actually be degrading performance by using ReadyBoost.

See Is Windows ReadyBoost Worth Using? and note the conclusion,
Quote:
In summary, ReadyBoost probably wonít improve your computerís performance much. If you have a very small amount of RAM (512 MB or so) and a very fast USB drive, you may see some increase in performance Ė but it isnít even guaranteed in this situation.
If me, I would not use ReadyBoost. If I was running 64-bit Windows, I would increase RAM to 8GB instead - if the notebook supported it.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] After pressing some key combo, I boot into emergency mode
I use Fedora 20. After pressing ctrl-alt-some function key, I entered emergency mode. Now every time I boot my computer, I enter emergency mode before I enter the normal OS. When I enter the normal OS there are no problems. How do I disable the auto-boot into emergency mode?
jengelhart Linux Support 26 07-25-2014 04:12 PM
dllhost.exe COM Surrogate problem
I have been having this odd problem for the past day and a half. When I start my computer and log in, it seems to run fine at first (but the boot up takes longer than normal) but the performance gradually degrades. It becomes increasingly difficult to access websites (the pages won't load, or I am...
CardsFan68 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 10-17-2013 08:57 AM
CPUTIN Extremely High please help
https://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/i444/Wabisuke_42/****.jpg it shows my cpu temp locked at 99c on speed test. Why am i getting such a high read on that and such good core temps D: any help is apperciated
Necta42 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 09-06-2012 01:57 PM
HP USB Flash drive doesn't work.
Hello, I bought a HP USB Flash Drive v117r 16GB I bought this 3 months ago and everything worked fine. However, I went to plug it into my computer and nothing came up in the file manager, the Flash drive was not detected. I have PC running Fedora 15 and I have a iMac. The Flash drive...
ant2009 Removable Media Drives 2 06-19-2011 09:00 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts