Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Upgrading my Ram - What to buy.

This is a discussion on Upgrading my Ram - What to buy. within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Currently i have one Adcance Modules 32 M x 64 , 256mb - DDR. It is a upgraded windows ME


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 04:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Pushpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA, Arizona
Posts: 100
OS: Vista/XP



Currently i have one Adcance Modules 32 M x 64, 256mb - DDR.

It is a upgraded windows ME and XP runs slow, i was told if i increased my RAM i would be able to have xp run much smoother.

My motherboard is a K7VTa3 Ver: 8.0

I was wanting to get about 1gb of ram. Im unsure, one stick or two? I am going to be buying it from either Bestbuy, Frys, or Newegg. Can someone please reffer me to an inexpenisive ram stick that will work on my computer.

Thankie.
Pushpin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2009, 05:42 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
OS:



Why such an old system? You can upgrade this but it's more expensive to change the tires on an antique car then it is on your brand new ford.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

2x 512mb sticks - 184pin - sdram

That will be the cheapest/reliability ratio you'll get on a system like that. You can pay more for more performance but for something so old it's starts getting ridiculous for slight speed increases.
ech0419 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 05:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Pushpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA, Arizona
Posts: 100
OS: Vista/XP



Hmm okay so your saying it would be better to just buy a new computer... Thanks for the link :)
Pushpin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2009, 06:03 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


IMHO you may be ok with that computer depending what you want it to do, if its used for just surfing I would do the ram upgrade.

What cpu does it have?
Doby is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 06:09 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Pushpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA, Arizona
Posts: 100
OS: Vista/XP



Im sorry, CPU = ? (i think its central processing unit, but were do i find out what one i have)

Yeah i just use it for surfing and runescape :P
Pushpin is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 06:16 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
OS:



It depends on what you want to do with the computer but that thing is aging fast and it may be better to just buy a new computer. They have ddr3 2000 ram now, which, well, is so fast it will make your head spin right off in comparison.

Don't buy this because I said it's out there lol. It's quite expensive and ridiculous for the average person.
ech0419 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 06:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Pushpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA, Arizona
Posts: 100
OS: Vista/XP



Well its a computer i hardly use but i was going to run some autoing programs on it, they are running a little sluggish with the current amount of ram, i wanted to speed it up slightly
Pushpin is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 06:28 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


The ram echo linked to will work fine and for 34 bucks its going to speed things up, yes the cpu is a cental processing unit, I asked because depending on what cpu you have it may not be worth the investment.

https://majorgeeks.com/EVEREST_Free_Edition_d4181.html

If you install everest free it will tell you what cpu you have
Doby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts