Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

thought buying ram was more simple....

This is a discussion on thought buying ram was more simple.... within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell XPS 600, https://www.dell.com/content/topics/t...=19&l=en&s=dhs Its all stock (got it about 2 years ago) it currently has 2


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



I have a Dell XPS 600, https://www.dell.com/content/topics/t...=19&l=en&s=dhs
Its all stock (got it about 2 years ago)
it currently has 2 gigs of ram but Id like to upgrade to 4 (I hear thats max windows xp will run)
If anyone would suggest a pair of sticks (i guess 2 ) thats 4 gigs total and will work with my xps 600, id greatly appreciate it. Im looking for the best pair under 200 $

Or.... would it be wise to upgrade to vista so I can run more then 4?

Thanks,


windows XP service pack 3
intel 3.4 proc
2 gigs ram
nvidia 7800 gtx
650 watt power supply
[email protected]
heinekenman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2009, 05:11 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



The Crucial Site says 2 Gig per slot so that would give you a total of 8Gig as you have 4 slots. BTW Crucial is the ram of choice for a dell If you do not buy it from crucial directly use the part number to search with not just the specs. > https://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...=XPS%20600
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 05:16 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



Should add that Windows 32 Bit XP or Vista will only support 4Gig report around 3.2 which is why you see the statement about 32 supporting 2 gig in matched pairs and 64 bit to 8 gig.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2009, 05:45 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



ok thanks for the help, I thought maybe there would be a better option then the one Crucial Site gave me for 50 $, It just seams like a cheap price but.. i also dont know much about ram :)
heinekenman is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 05:55 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



For a Dell motherboard with limited Bios options the Crucial is best as you don't have the ability to customize all the settings like you would on a retail board.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:27 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



thanks for your help , im gonna buy those tomorow ;)
heinekenman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts