Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Storm and lights dimming - pc still on

This is a discussion on Storm and lights dimming - pc still on within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. I have an question. There is a storm in my country today. Power is on . But there is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2017, 02:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
OS: Windows 7



Hello. I have an question. There is a storm in my country today. Power is on . But there is random lights dimming in house. Pc is still on, and laptop is still on. So why both computers are on and wont turns off when lights are dimming? Thanks. And is this harmful to pc?


Ah i dont have UPS.
sew333 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2017, 02:32 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



You don't say what country or what power system/voltage. In the US, we use 110-120VAC. If power drops below that (brownout), lights will dim, but many electronic components will not shut down until power drops below a certain threshold, maybe 90VAC or so.

Yes, it can harm components if it recurs often enough.

One thing a UPS will do is adjust/boost power output if the input drops. Get one.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 10-05-2017, 02:34 PM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,589
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Since your laptop has a battery to run on, a power brown-out shouldn't be a problem.

Your PC may have a PSU (Power Supply Unit) that was designed to continue running on AC voltage of anywhere from 100 volts to 125 volts.
SpywareDr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2017, 02:58 PM   #4
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



It's best to turn them off at the mains to prevent further damage to them also any electronic devices like tv set top boxes, if you have a storm lights will dim like in a thunder storm. I have mine connected to a surge protector. Hold the power button on you pc and laptop until they power down then wait 5-10 mins before trying to boot them up.
steve32mids is offline  
Old 10-06-2017, 12:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
OS: Windows 7



I have PSU Corsair 750 RM.

So it can harm pc if during storm my lights in house flickered for 1 seconds? How can i check if my pc is ok?

Yesterday in my house lights flickered for 1 second few times. But pc not shutted down,and laptop not shutted down too. ( laptop is without battery ).
sew333 is offline  
Old 10-11-2017, 03:43 PM   #6
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



normally your lights are on a different supply to your mains sockets, and have there own fuse on the fuse box in the house, unless they turn off they will be fine.
steve32mids is offline  
Old 10-12-2017, 06:49 AM   #7
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,589
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post

One thing a UPS will do is adjust/boost power output if the input drops. Get one.
Ditto!

Compared to the cost of all of the equipment they protect, they are cheap.

If money's a bit tight at the moment, a good surge protector is better than nothing.
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cm storm quickfire pro not working
so my keyboard was working fine (except for my computer nor booting when it was plugged in) then it just shut off on me today. not sure why. my keyboard is the cm storm quickfire pro (sgk4010gkcm1us) now when i plug it in it lights up momentarily (about 1 sec) then turn's off. i think it might be...
santamawe Other Hardware Support 1 06-26-2012 03:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts