Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Specific 3D Programs Cause System to Freeze

This is a discussion on Specific 3D Programs Cause System to Freeze within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. I've been dealing with this issue for some time, hoping I can find a solution. ---------------------- Issue: Starting up


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2009, 01:03 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Hello.

I've been dealing with this issue for some time, hoping I can find a solution.

----------------------

Issue:

Starting up Poser 7, Daz3DStudio, and Blender causes my entire system to lock up. My only option is to perform a hard reboot and restart. I can not even open the program to change settings because by then my system is hanging. The farthest I have ever gone is the loading screen. lol Always freezes at the same point as well.

In Poser 7, a few seconds after the loading screen appears (it freezes).

In Daz3D and Blender, immediately after double-clicking the desktop icons (it freezes).

While I can load and enter 3DS Max 2009, rendering a Reactor scene results in a freeze.

Possible Suspects:

-OpenGL related
-I have 3 versions of Microsoft Visual C++ (including 2005 and 2008). One is a 32-bit program and I have a 64-bit machine. Possible conflict?
-Bad Drivers

Unsuspecting:

--Faulty Hardware. I can play high-end games with no issue.

My System Specifications:
E8400 @ 3.0ghz
Sony DVD-RW
Western Digital 500gb HDD
HIS Radeon HD3870x2
Patriot 4gb @ 800mhx 4-4-4-12
Gigabyte DS3L
Rosewill 600w
Raidmax Smilodon
Windows Vista x64


Thanks in advance.
Jasumi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2009, 02:02 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,841
OS: Windows 10 education x64

My System


That PSU you have for sure is of poor quality.

You should have something like this

Corsair 750w
$120
after rebate $100
McNinja is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 03:09 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



lol Yeah, it's not the best but it fit into my budget.

I actually haven't had any problems with it thus far.
Jasumi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2009, 03:45 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



Can you unlink the GPU's in CCC? Some 3d programs have trouble with multiple GPU's.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 03:52 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Yes, I've tried disabling Catalyst AI/ turning off my second GPU. Still the error.
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 04:38 AM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



Try this open GL test to eliminate open GL as the cause> https://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 04:52 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Ok, I have Good News and Bad News

Bad News:

My PC froze right before FurMark could open

Good News:

I am certain this is an OpenGL issue now


How can I go about fixing this? Help would be appreciated.
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 05:24 AM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



OpenGL is part of the operating system and the video drivers, open the program you use to check voltages and then try opening the GL test program watch the 12v rail while it freezes for the reading.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 05:32 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



OK, my voltages were all good.

Though I have noticed something.

All Catalyst Drivers newer than 8.8 seem to be incompatible with my System. Everytime I try to update them, a blue screen loads upon startup. Yet with the 8.8 drivers I can load windows normally.
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 07:27 AM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



What is the 12v reading?
Is .net framework up to date?
The 9.6 version should work on Vista 64 bit.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 05:58 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Right before my system froze, my 12v read 12.04v. I'm not an overclocker, so my system runs stable.

My .NET Framework in %systemroot% is up to date, as well.


Do you maybe know of a memory log dump by chance, for system freezes?
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 11:54 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



Only if it blue screens will you get a system mini dump`log.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 01:07 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



for 3870x2 you need to be up here

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nc.-_-17139009



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 01:35 AM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:


Darn, I've got some luck.

I think I'm suffering from an IRQ conflict.

Do any of you guys have any troubleshooting methods? Particularly something OpenGL related?

I am not very knowledgeable in IRQ conflicts as of yet, but I have been suffering system freezes when loading OpenGL apps. I think it could be IRQ related.



Sorry for like triple posting, but I can't edit my posts. Please ignore all of that.

OK, this is strange.

I booted up Poser in Safe Mode and it worked! What are the differences between Safe Mode and Normal Mode? Could it be that Safe Mode uses less exe files?

This would seem to be some bizarre driver conflict then.
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:40 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



safe mode does not load the video driver
so you don't get the large power pull
which is another indication you are underpowered



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:42 AM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



I'll look into stress-testing my PSU then.
Jasumi is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:55 AM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



no one as said there is anything wrong with your psu

what was said it was underpowered for the system you want it to run



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 05:15 AM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Yes, I understand. It's just that my PC plays high-end DirectX games with no fault. I can play Crysis on all High for a few hours and my PSU never gives out.

Unless, OpenGL apps draw more power than DirectX?
Jasumi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts