Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] What RAM is compattible with my Computer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] What RAM is compattible with my Computer within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I currently have 2GB of RAM and was interested in putting another 4GB of RAM into my computer (totaling 6GB)


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2011, 08:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7


Pencil

I currently have 2GB of RAM and was interested in putting another 4GB of RAM into my computer (totaling 6GB)

I opened up my computer and it said on the current RAM
DDR2-800

These are my specs according to CPU-Z
halppl0x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2011, 08:53 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,959
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Hi!, Welcome to TSF!

Look like it is upgradable to 8g.

Almost all programs/games will not use over 4g (sometimes wont go over 3)

Unless you are into 3d editing or rendering using programs like CAD.

You could benefit getting a match set of 2x2g for 4g of ram.
shotgn is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgn View Post
Hi!, Welcome to TSF!

Look like it is upgradable to 8g.

Almost all programs/games will not use over 4g (sometimes wont go over 3)

Unless you are into 3d editing or rendering using programs like CAD.

You could benefit getting a match set of 2x2g for 4g of ram.

Hello, and thanks for the welcome :)

That is what I was looking at doing (getting 2x2gb)
My computer is mainly used for gaming/online gaming, watching movies/tv shows, listening to music and general Internet (I now have around 500GB worth of movies/tv shows and music on an external)
So I don't need any ridiculous amounts of RAM, just enough to cater to my needs :)

Could you recommend any particular RAM that would be compatible with my PC, and isn't too over the top?

cheers
halppl0x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2011, 06:34 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



If you get a matched pair of 2X2GB use only those two sticks. 4GB is more than enough, mixing RAM brands/specs can cause problems and filling all the RAM slots can cause Voltage issues.



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:19 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,959
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Ram brands the we recommend are Corsair,OCZ,G-skill,Mushkin,and crucial.

1066 (pc2-8500) or 800 (pc2 6400)

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPI-B
shotgn is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:31 AM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I use Asus Mobo's almost exclusively and for performance I use OCZ-G.Skill-Corsair in that order. For standard use I get the economy versions of G.Skill and Corsair. For OEM I use Crucial.



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 04:41 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



cheers for the help guys

I think I found some RAM that is matched with mine
Just wanna check with you first if I should get it or not

it says on it
Transcend 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model JM4GDDR2-8K Like new. Completed tested with memtest and with no errors. Come with lifetime warranty. Free Shipping

thanks
halppl0x is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 05:15 AM   #8
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Glad you got it sorted out and good luck.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[BSOD] Computer constantly restarts while gaming
About a month ago I purchased a new computer. It is a desktop and I bought all of the components and built it myself. Here are the specs: ASUS M4A79XTD EVO 790X AM3 RT Newegg.com - ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard AMD Phenom 1090T Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T...
plasmastar BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 13 02-16-2011 07:08 PM
Half of the Ram detected by PC
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I...
Tech Amateur RAM and Power Supply Support 14 02-12-2011 08:22 AM
Brother's computer had a rootkit, was reformatted, and now it isn't working properly
I did not know whether to post this Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help or in Windows XP Support. I apologize if this is in the wrong place. This is not a problem with my own computer, but with my brother's. He and his family are staying with us for a while and I guess their computer got a rootkit. They...
Piper Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-31-2011 02:09 PM
is there any solution for Low Ram Computer?
there are 3-4 computers at my school, but not much good. 256 mb ram. we are using computer only for internet and ms office. i threw format, i tried to usefull speed up registry, but still not working, still slow. My question this, - is there any software for fix it? *must really working - is...
yadigartbaykal Windows XP Support 6 01-27-2011 05:49 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts