Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Replacing a Power Supply, Quick Question

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Replacing a Power Supply, Quick Question within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello , I play on a fairly old PC running a 300W power supply. I've recently decided to upgrade my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2011, 01:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows XP SP 2



Hello , I play on a fairly old PC running a 300W power supply. I've recently decided to upgrade my graphics card to play some of the newer games without any issues like lag or crashing. I know the first thing i need to do is upgrade my Power Supply. I was wondering if there are any requirements i need to worry about when looking for one? Or is just a simple purchase remove the old one and install the new one? My mother board is a PCI-Express motherboard as well. I'm trying to go the cheap route, but to give an idea what games I'm interested in running are games like COD MW3, FFXIV , skyrium etc.. please help me out. Thanks.
dreamvgt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2011, 01:32 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The power required will depend on the GPU you select. We recommend a minimum 550W good quality PSU for a PCI-E PC.
SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the CX or GS Series) are top quality.
PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-21-2011, 07:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows XP SP 2



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
The power required will depend on the GPU you select. We recommend a minimum 50W good quality PSU for a PCI-E PC.
SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the CX or GS Series) are top quality.
PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
These specs are straight from my System Information

OS Name : Microsoft Windows XP home Edition
Version : 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer Compaq Presario 061
System Model : EL427AA-ABA SR1711NX NA610
System Type: X86-based PC
Processor: x86 Family: 15 Model 47 Stepping 2 AutheniticAMD ~1989 Mhz
Total Physical Memory: 2,560.00 MB
Available Physical Memory: 1.59 GB
Total Virtual Memory: 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory: 1.96 GB
Graphics Card : ATI Radeon X1650 Pro

I think those are the main things. Let me know if i missed something.
dreamvgt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2011, 08:09 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 244
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit



I'm sure Tyree meant 500 watts.

For a factory computer sometimes the PSU does not fit the ATX standards meaning you will need to search for a PSU that will fit your Compaq.

Graphics card manufacturers provide info on their websites about which power supplies are certified to power which of their cards.
David Mo is offline  
Old 11-22-2011, 05:29 AM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I meant 550W and I have changed my post.
For the X1650 Pro: Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-22-2011, 08:24 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows XP SP 2



So according to that my X1650 PRO is what i have currently. Any chance you could break that down a little? I'm not that knowledgeable on the acronyms. But from what i'm understanding i can just remove and upgrade my power supply then? Then upgrade my X1650 pro.
dreamvgt is offline  
Old 11-22-2011, 08:51 AM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamvgt View Post
So according to that my X1650 PRO is what i have currently. Any chance you could break that down a little? I'm not that knowledgeable on the acronyms. But from what i'm understanding i can just remove and upgrade my power supply then? Then upgrade my X1650 pro.
I assumed the X1650 was what you were installing.
Basically yes, you can R&R your components.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-22-2011, 07:03 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows XP SP 2



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
I assumed the X1650 was what you were installing.
Basically yes, you can R&R your components.
Gotchya Thanks, Tyree.
dreamvgt is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:29 AM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



You're welcome and best of luck.
I posted a PSU that would be sufficient for the X1650. The power you will require will depend on the GPU you select. Do not attempt to cut corners by using a low quality/underpowered PSU.
https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...on-192217.html



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 05:19 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows XP SP 2



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
You're welcome and best of luck.
I posted a PSU that would be sufficient for the X1650. The power you will require will depend on the GPU you select. Do not attempt to cut corners by using a low quality/underpowered PSU.
https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...on-192217.html
Okay, I'll buy a top brand PSU. thanks again Tyree.
dreamvgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade my power supply if I want to upgrade my other hardware?
I posted here almost a year ago I think about an issue I was having, and somehow my power supply was brought up in the conversation, after sharing my power supply specs: TurboLink Switching Power Supply LC-A420ATX https://img11.imageshack.us/img11/3038/powersupplyspecs.jpg I was told that I...
FreakshowGamer RAM and Power Supply Support 23 08-02-2011 07:43 AM
What do I find a power supply for this board?
Lucky me, I picked up two of these HP Compaq 8000 Elite Series motherboards at the pawn shop for $20. I've found the pdf on this board, https://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13424_na/13424_na.pdf, I've got the board in front of me so I can see all the ports on it. But I don't have a power...
dave59330 RAM and Power Supply Support 3 07-31-2011 02:41 PM
Team rules guidebook
Hardware Team Guidebook These are my expectations of each Team Member as we work together to build a strong and effective Hardware Team. Team Structure:  Techs - Techs are skilled members who have been selected by the Hardware Team and Team Management to solve problems in the Hardware...
dai Tweakers 0 05-17-2009 07:55 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts