Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] ram question

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] ram question within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just finished reading the sticky about IMPORTANT READ BEFORE YOU BUY RAM . I went to my motherboard manual


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
OS: XP



I just finished reading the sticky about IMPORTANT READ BEFORE YOU BUY RAM.

I went to my motherboard manual it has this statement about the ram I purchased.

"Supports one pair of modules inserted into either the yellow slots or the black slots as one pair of dual-channel memory configuration."

I take this to mean that my Asus P5Q motherboard can only support 2 (G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK) memory sticks?

I have 4 and when I right click my computer to see my processor and memory it only states 3gigs. This could also be that I'm running XP (32bit) as it mentioned in that post that XP (32bit) only supports 3gigs and under.

my question is if I buy another type of memory that is supported in the same manner will I be able to get to 8gigs ram? (i'm upgrading to WIN7 (64bit)).

Or do i have to buy all new ram that is listed under this statement

"supports 4 modules inserted into both the yellow and black slots as two pairs of dual-channel memory configuation."

I'd like more ram for video editing and rendering as well as gaming.
CooL_RunningS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


A 32 bit operating system can only address a maximum of 3 to 3.5 GB of memory. Adding more/different memory will have no effect.

The only way for your computer to fully utilize 4 or more GB or memory is to install a 64 bit OS.
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 05:28 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


I believe the P5Q series motherboards can support up to 16 GB of RAM. I'm looking over the specs of the Deluxe, Premium, and SE PLUS motherboards on the Asus website.

I think what your manual is saying is just that you can use dual channeling if you put a pair of sticks in the same-colord slots.

So if you're getting 64-bit Windows 7 you should be able to install 8 GB fine.
epshatto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2011, 07:00 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The Mobo can/will support up to 16GB of RAM but it will only see up to about 3.25GB using a 32 Bit OS. Using a 64Bit OS will allow the Mobo to see over 4GB. There are no games and few apps that can utilize over 3GB of RAM.
We commonly suggest using a matched pair of 2X2GB RAM as that is more than sufficient and you avoid any Voltage issues that may occur when filling all the RAM slots.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 04:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
OS: XP



ahh okay...thanks fellas. 64bit os here I come!
CooL_RunningS is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
OS: XP



win7 installed 8gigs baby...comp rips now yes!
thanks.
CooL_RunningS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird hardware failure. (Computer randomly reboots/shuts down possible RAM issue)
System: Windows 7 RAM (2 sticks): Corsair DDR2 XMS2 800MHz 2038MB MB: Asus M4A785-M CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 620 HD: W.D. Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB PSU: Logisys 550w PS550A_BK About a week ago, my computer just randomly went black, it randomly restarted itself, it continued to do so...
SnowBum Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 11 04-06-2011 08:21 PM
[SOLVED] RAM Question
Hello TSF, I recently went down to my local computer shop and asked if they had any RAM, and he said that they had a pair of OCZ (2x2gb) sticks, and that they were the best ones as the Latency Timings were 6-6-6. Only problem was, they were £144.99, a little to expensive methinks. I then had a look...
Ooudestomp RAM and Power Supply Support 11 02-23-2011 09:50 AM
Question about RAM, OS & Upgrading Desktop PC
I have a Dell Inspiron 530 running 32-bit Windows Vista Home Premium (SP2) with 2Gb RAM, which is our 'home PC'. It has got noticeably slower since I bought it two years ago and so I've decided it's time to do some upgrading. The max memory is 4x 1Gb modules (it has two 1Gb modules at present), but...
Sussie RAM and Power Supply Support 7 01-24-2011 05:15 AM
RAM question
ok well i got a question about ram. I am very well knowledgeable with computer stuff but ram is iffy for me. my current pc is running windows 7 64 bit. I have PC 5400 DDR 1GB (thats what it says on the ram stick them selfs.) i dont know if they are DDR2 due this computer being a gift.
shadowtype09 RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-07-2011 12:35 AM
Wierd RAM Question?
Now I am building a system for a friend, using an Asus rampage III Gene motherboard. I went to there website to get there list of supported ram, now there list gives me a part number for the ram while most sites that I buy ram from give a ram model number. Now my question is how do I convert...
pnave01 RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-04-2011 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts