Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] RAM Conflict

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] RAM Conflict within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Gateway laptop Model: NV57H26U (Purchased new from store) Processor: Intel Core I5-2410M Speed: 2.3MHZ - 2.9MHZ Memory Technology: DDR3 SDRAM


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2011, 11:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Gateway laptop Model: NV57H26U (Purchased new from store)
Processor: Intel Core I5-2410M
Speed: 2.3MHZ - 2.9MHZ
Memory Technology: DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Standard: DDR3-1066/PC3-8500

The specs say it has 4GB of DDR3-1066/PC3-8500 with the ability to expand to 8GB. Which is exactly what I want to do. But, when I opened the laptop up, I found two 2GB cards with the following markings,... "2GB.2Rx8.PC3-10600S-9-10-F2.1333". I read this to mean that the laptop had 1333/PC3-10600 installed vice 1066/PC3-8500.

Question 1: Did I interpret those markings correctly or not?

Question 2: If correct, should I expand to 8GB of DDR3 1333/PC3-10600 like what's already in there? Or should I adhere to the specs and use 8GB of DDR3 1066/PC3-8500?

Question 3: Will this current use of 1333/PC3-10600 OR expansion to 8GB of the same eventually cause problems with clocking, overheating or anything else?

Question 4: Could you recommend the best manufacture to go with on Sodimm RAM?

Thank you in advance, for taking the time to read and help.
bremjds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2011, 12:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Q1: Label interpreted correctly.
Q2: Expand to 8GB of either.
Q3: No. This system can handle the upgrade to 1333/pc3-10600 w/no prob.
Q4: No recommendations.
Source: L3 Tech support
bremjds is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:42 PM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Do you need 8GB of RAM in a laptop?
If you want to add RAM use Crucial's site to determine the correct speds that are acceptable for your laptop. Crucial is the best option for OEM and lower tier Mobo's.
RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] RAM upgrade causes failure to boot with ANY RAM
RAM Failure, Lost Cause? Computer: Dell E521 AMD Athlon 64 Nvidia GeForce 6150LE with ATI Radeon 256MB Video card upgrade. Was running Vista with 1GB ram (2x512MB DDR2) and decided to upgrade to 2GB. Got Kingston 2x1GB DDR2-800 after consulting with Crucial. Tried to upgrade and would not...
aweather RAM and Power Supply Support 12 05-23-2011 12:05 AM
RAM Failure, Lost Cause?
Computer: Dell E521 AMD Athlon 64 Nvidia GeForce 6150LE with ATI Radeon 256MB Video card upgrade. Was running Vista with 1GB ram (2x512MB DDR2) and decided to upgrade to 2GB. Got Kingston 2x1GB DDR2-800 after consulting with Crucial. Tried to upgrade and would not boot. Now cannot get...
aweather Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 0 05-07-2011 12:07 PM
[SOLVED] I hate ram.
Okay, so I'm getting rather irritated at my computer and my luck with RAM in general here, I was hoping somebody could enlighten me. Okay, so for christmas I ordered 2 x 1GB sticks of ram and put them into my already 1GB computer (2 x 512) to equal what I was hoping was going to be 3GB ram. For now...
Hudos RAM and Power Supply Support 22 04-01-2011 10:40 AM
Bizzare Problem with RAM detection on asus motherboard
I'm not sure should I post this on Ram or motherboard thread but I'm sure admin will take care of that if this is posted in wrong place. Anyway to the problem. I'm having bit of a bizarre problem with bios not detecting all my ram. The mother board has 4 ram slots so from left to right it should...
Nevis RAM and Power Supply Support 6 03-04-2011 04:19 AM
RAM Heat Spreader
Hello! Am I taking a chance by not getting a heat spreader? Are heat spreaders just eye candy? I would like to upgrade my RAM from 1G to 2Gs. I often am running grid computing software (BIONC, etc.) and a web browser, which uses up all my RAM continuously. I don't mind this as I'm usually...
GeoMoon5 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 01-17-2011 11:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts