Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] PSU Died - Help

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] PSU Died - Help within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I came to my computer it was off, I am pretty sure it was on previously. I hit the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2010, 10:41 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


When I came to my computer it was off, I am pretty sure it was on previously. I hit the power button and heard a little pop. I am assuming it was the PSU. Not how likely is it that would of messed up anything else.

The PSU I believe I bought it around 2003 - do they usually last that long?
ukbsktbll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 11:08 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


Power supplies can die whenever they decide to. It is wasn't a very good make then they die quicker than good makes.

what make was it?

Also you said you heard a pop, have a look at the motherboard for any burns or look at the capacitors (small cyllindrical objects by the cpu) do any look bent or crumppled? are any leaking.

If the capicitors are leaking, bent or damaged then your motherboard has had it. If there is no damage then it will most likely be the PSU
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 11:46 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


No the MB seems to be fine, capacitors look fine. The PSU did smell burnt, but nothing in the PC other than that smells burnt.

This is the one I have https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104014 guess had it since 10/2006 so not as long as I thought.
ukbsktbll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 11:52 AM   #4
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


its most likely the psu. FSP are one of the worst makes of power supplies you can get.

The power supply is the most important componet in your computer. If you didn't know, the power supply converts the ac electricity from your wall socket to low voltage dc electricity that the computer and its components need to run. Buying a cheap, bad make of power supply is bad idea because they have cheap components in them and the conversion can go wrong.

These power supplies generally die if there is even the slightest hint of a voltage spike or power outage and these power supplies sometimes over volt other equipment in the pc when they fail meaning you might have to replace more than just the power supply but lets hope not.

Good power supplies are: Seasonic, corsair, CWT, PC power and cooling, Thermaltake toughpower units and OCZ extreme.

Any other psu is considered crap or okayish.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:24 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


Well at the time I was told it was a great brand. well guess that may be why it died
ukbsktbll is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:25 PM   #6
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


whoever told you that was either lying or didn't know what they were on about.

They did make good power supplies a few years ago.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 01:20 PM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by ukbsktbll View Post
Well at the time I was told it was a great brand. well guess that may be why it died
When you bought the FSP in 2006 it was a top quality unit. 6 yrs. is a good run for any PSU.
Sesonic & Corsair are the best choices for quality & reliability.



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 03:50 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


I need help choosing a new PSU. My system specs are under my system to the left. I would like to have it powerful enough to handle more than whats in my system now. At some point id be interested in upgrading my video card to either dual ones or a gtx or gts. I think I am going to stick with the core 2 duo may upgrade to a quad core in the far future.

Do you need a specific PSU for the i series processors. I dont know if I would go for one in the future but would like a PSU to be able to handle if I choose too.

Thanks
ukbsktbll is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 06:32 AM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



These will all powr an i5/i5 setup. Using two GPU's will give you a small performance increase.
I use prefer SeaSonic but the Corsair is better bang for the buck right now for the 650W.

SeaSonic S12E $110
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151082

CORSAIR -650TX $90
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

Or, if you want to go 750W (best bang for the buck).

SeaSonic S12D $115
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151084

CORSAIR -750TX $115
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 10:34 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System

I like the corsair with the rebate. Do you know how many cords it has and if they easily bend and what not. I got a mid case so not a ton of room. Also my MB is all the way across my unit so are the cords long.

The second corsair, would that power any of the i series?
ukbsktbll is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:18 PM   #11
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


Yes the corsair will do you fine and the cords will fit.

Power supplies don't work for certain CPUs so you are ok there. The keyword when chosing a power supply is ATX. ATX is the form factor of your motherboard and the case the motherboard is in (shape and size) Your motherboard is ATX so it will fit perfectly.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:24 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


Thanks very much
ukbsktbll is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:16 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 549
OS: 7



yes the corsair wires should fit across any atx mobo, the only problem i had with the psu was to many wires! i ended up just zip tying all the ones i didnt use at the bottom of my case, they are covered in a plastic black lace around the wires so they usually dont tangle and such
montiaro is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 01:34 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System

Ok question my motherboard here:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128059 is a 24 pin

this power supply https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006 is a 20+4 so do I unhook the 4 and plug it in the 4 hole power slot?

I have the 24 slot ATX port by my ram and a 4 slot one by my processor. What do I plug into the 4 slot spot near my processor. I have sata hookups PCI-E hook ups, and ATA HD hook ups. I do have one hookup not labled that has 8 slots. I am a little lost. Thanks

Well I did notice the 8 slot one breaks up to form two four slot pieces. It does fit in by the PSU but when I power it on I get a loud shriek, I assume it means something it not hooked up properly

Nevermind to all that I just remembered the loud shriek is what my vid card does when it is not plugged in.
ukbsktbll is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 12:08 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 549
OS: 7



some mobo require 4 or 8 pin connectors along with a 24 pin main connector, the mobo u used uses a 4 pin power cable along with the 24 main connector
montiaro is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 02:35 AM   #16
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


yes you just unclip the 8 pin block to make it 4
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 07:39 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,182
OS: XP Professional

My System


Yep thanks this thread can be marked solved thanks
ukbsktbll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts