Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] off the wall CRC errors![moved from m/boards]

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] off the wall CRC errors![moved from m/boards] within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Hopefully someone will be able to help me out here... Im going to post the history of this problem

Closed Thread

Old 05-12-2008, 08:56 AM   #1

Evil

Hi

Hopefully someone will be able to help me out here... Im going to post the history of this problem Im having, so apologies in advance to all for the long post.

In a nutshell, Im having getting CRC errors when I try to install games. Im no newbie when it comes to PC's and troubleshooting, so believe me when I say I have tried everything... I think!

Firstly, Im not installing from a DVD/CD, Im installing from a tool called Daemon Tools... most of you will know it well.

Here is a brief outline of what I have tried so far.

1. I've ran extensive testing using memtest+ and Microsoft Mem diag, totally about 24 hours total. Additionally I've swapped out my RAM and Ive used two seperate sets and get the same problem.

Its not the RAM.

2. During the above testing I used every possible memory slot combonation. I also made sure all memory timings were set manually, so I know that was all correct.

Not the memory settings or mobo memory slots.

3. I formatted BOTH my hard drives (and bought new cables) and installed fresh Windows XP SP2 on each drive, with the other one unplugged, still same problem

Not the windows installation, or my Hard Drives, or cables. Could be the SATA controller

4. I have tried various versions of Daemon tools, I have tried the latest Nvidia 750i SLI chipset drivers from both Nvidia's website and Asus website. I have my onboard audio disabled in the CMOS. I also tried back-dating my CMOS, and updating the the most recent one that came out this month. None of this worked.