Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Is my PSU okay

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Is my PSU okay within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My build is: 2x 2GB G. Skill 1066 RAM Gigabyte EP45-UD3R Q6600 @ 3.2, ~1.2x volts 2x 7200 RPM HDD


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2012, 10:35 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 933
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



My build is:

2x 2GB G. Skill 1066 RAM
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Q6600 @ 3.2, ~1.2x volts
2x 7200 RPM HDD
1x 10,000 RPM WD Raptor
1x GTX 480, overclocked to 1.088v
2x optical drives
2x 1 AMP Rexus 120mm fans
1x 140mm fan
2x slipstream fans
Zalman HSF (with Red LED)
*All fans except the Zalman go through my 6 channel Sunbeam fan controller

I have used a 750W PC Power & Cooling PSU (warrantied to get a resistor changed due to voltage on the 12V rail), a Corsair HX 1050, and now I decided to go back down, so that I don't waste power, to a Seasonic x750. I was concerned that it might not be enough because I really wanted the extra comfort zone of an 850W unit, but after looking at more of the specs, I noticed that my original 750 was only 80 PLUS and was already a couple years old and it still managed the load. The new Seasonic PSU is GOLD rated and better reputed, as well as being brand new.....I also don't plan to expand the system anymore. It's maxxed out as far as what I can add to it and I would just like an opinion on the system as is, without regard to future upgrades.

The power calculator in the sticky put my power needs at 616W. My current PSU provides ~20% more.....and I think that there is enough headroom with such a stout PSU (which according to testing performs better under demand) and a static power need.

I will welcome opinions, thanks-
silvergoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2012, 04:55 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


seasonic and corsair are both made by seasonic apart from the gs and cs units and are far better than the pc power and cooling however you are slightly confused. A power supply does not produce its full wattage all the time it only uses what it needs so if you had a 1050w psu it would not used 1050w if it didn'nt need to.

the x-series seasonic are fanless power supplies I would not recommend a fanless psu for a system that is a gaming/power system especially if overclocking is invloved.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 05:46 AM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



A good quality 750W PSU will be sufficient for your hardware.
If you already have a new 1050W Corsair I would advise using it.



Tyree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2012, 09:51 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 933
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



I saw a youtube video a while ago (pretty sure it was a video card/power supply comparison video) that showed an increase in power draw from an overpowered power supply vs a mild power supply.

Regardless, I've ditched the PC Power & Cooling and put it into another computer, and still have the Seasonic in my main PC (it is so quiet! I actually noticed it and would like to keep it that way). The Corsair 1050 is going on my test rig. Hopefully the Seasonic tests out fine since I just installed it yesterday and it hasn't been tested at all.

With regards to the Corsair, I will use it when I have a system that demands more power. Right now, my system only has a one video card limit so I can't put it to use, and the cables aren't as varied as the Seasonic. The Corsair has cables that are way too long, and I only have a mid-tower. Seasonic just works better for me, but I wanted to make sure that it could take the power demands.
silvergoat is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 06:10 AM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



SeaSonic is the top of the line and your Corsair is also made by SeaSonic.
A bigger PSU will not cause more power draw.
A PSU (Power SUPPLY Unit) does as its name implies, it supplies power. Components "draw" power and no more power will be consumed than is required from the components the PSU supports.



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 06:28 AM   #6
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


that psu in the video mys have ha something causing more power drain. I used to test them for a living. A psu uses what it needs and only what it needs.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 06:36 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
that psu in the video mys have ha something causing more power drain. I used to test them for a living. A psu uses what it needs and only what it needs.




very accurate info
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU or RAM?
Specifications- PSU: DYNEX atx 350w Motherboard: GA-M61PME-S2 CPU: AMD phenon x2 (not sure of Ghz think it is somewhere around 3.3ghz) GPU: Nvidia GeForce 8600GT RAM: DDR2 2gigs sticks, the Motherboard can hold 2 sticks I do have a few psu's that i have been trying but all are 350w or...
Splawn RAM and Power Supply Support 8 07-29-2011 05:38 AM
[SOLVED] Need advice on how to connect a modular psu to a mobo
hey guys ive just recently bought a new case and psu for my pc and im having trouble connecting the psu to the mobo and getting it to run correctly now the psu is a Novatech PowerStation Black Edition 750W Silent ATX2 Modular Power Supply and the mobo is part of an overclock bundle the mobo itself...
c.mcgill RAM and Power Supply Support 9 04-05-2011 06:24 AM
Good Replacement PSU to buy??
Hi all: Looks like from early help on this forum, I need to purchase a replacement PSU for my HP Pavilion a1640n desktop PC. What good (compatible) PSU would you recommend? After doing some initial research, there are just too many. I want a better PSU (the OEM version was like 300w), one that...
SmallTownUSA RAM and Power Supply Support 2 02-01-2011 02:15 PM
New PSU won't POST; old PSU works
I'm trying to upgrade a 250W Bestec PSU with OCZ 600W SXS. The motherboard takes 20-pin without -5V pin. Bestec PSU has no -5V pin, and the system runs fine. I put in OCZ PSU, and fans (CPU, PSU and case) run, there is power to CD-ROM and hard drive, but motherboard won't POST -- no video signal...
flybone RAM and Power Supply Support 6 01-27-2011 05:31 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts