Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] How to organise my RAM

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] How to organise my RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, its been a while since iv been on here, sorry about that! im not sure exactly what will


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2014, 04:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
tippeetom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 75
OS: Windows 10 x64

My System


Hi everyone,
its been a while since iv been on here, sorry about that!

im not sure exactly what will be the best way to organise the ram slots.

at the minute i have 2x2GB and 2x1GB sticks. its DDR3. These are in the right slots so it becomes duel channel (i think its called duel channel but you know what i mean)

tomorrow morning i will be receiving a free 4GB stick of RAM.

im going to take out one of the 1GB sticks but iv heard before that the highest stick of ram should always be in slot A1. So, do i have A1 4GB B1 1GB and then A & B 2 have the 2GB sticks so that they are still duel channel?

i hope this makes sense to someone lol

thanks in advance for your replies

Tippee
tippeetom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2014, 04:55 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


I'ld remove both 1GB DIMMs, mount the 4GB in slot A1 and the 2 x 2GB in the channel B slots.

This gives 4GB in each channel and allows for dual channel operation of all memory. Once you confirm the PC will run stable, if you wish, try a 1GB DIMM in the extra slot, though I doubt there will be any noticeable difference.
gcavan is offline  
Old 06-23-2014, 05:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
tippeetom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 75
OS: Windows 10 x64

My System


ok, thank you very much. thanks for the quick reply also.

iv had a few people telling me different ways so i just wanted some second opinions.

The way you said makes the most sense to me :)

cheers
tippeetom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2014, 06:53 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



"IF" all the RAM is compatible, gcavan's suggestion should work. Mixing RAM brand/specs commonly causes issues.



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-23-2014, 07:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
tippeetom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 75
OS: Windows 10 x64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
"IF" all the RAM is compatible, gcavan's suggestion should work. Mixing RAM brand/specs commonly causes issues.
i thought that, i mentioned it to the guy from Kingston and he was adamant that it will work fine but if not, i only lose 1GB, 8GB ishould be enough for me anyway.
tippeetom is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 05:08 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
tippeetom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 75
OS: Windows 10 x64

My System


Hi everyone. i just thought i would let you know what i did just in case it is useful to anyone else

my RAM slots are labelled 1,2,3,4.

1 & 3 are a pair. 2 & 4 are a pair.

1: 4GB
2: 2GB
3: 1GB
4: 2GB


thanks for your help

hope this comes in useful
tippeetom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No display when adding new RAM
I have an Acer M1641 Desktop and I bought a brand new RAM (which is 2GB DDR2-800 Kingston) to upgrade my existing one (which is 1GB DDR2-667 Samsung). My plan was to buy a RAM with the same frequency (DDR2-667) but It's difficult to find one, so I bought the DDR2-800. I asked the sales clerk if...
duomax03 RAM and Power Supply Support 13 12-04-2011 06:33 PM
Compaq 1.6ghz 8gb ram vs eMachines 2.8ghz 4gb ram
Hi all! The motherboard on my refurbished Dell Inspiron desktop just kicked the bucket (I'll never buy refurbished again btw). So now I need to replace my pc with a new one. I use my pc for music production. I need to make sure my pcs can run my music programs without...
midiblazer RAM and Power Supply Support 6 11-20-2011 07:08 AM
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
[SOLVED] I hate ram.
Okay, so I'm getting rather irritated at my computer and my luck with RAM in general here, I was hoping somebody could enlighten me. Okay, so for christmas I ordered 2 x 1GB sticks of ram and put them into my already 1GB computer (2 x 512) to equal what I was hoping was going to be 3GB ram. For now...
Hudos RAM and Power Supply Support 22 04-01-2011 10:40 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts