Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Computer not starting at all.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Computer not starting at all. within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey everyone, love the board. Lots of great info. I have a problem. My computer wont turn on at all.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2010, 11:09 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS:


Question

Hey everyone, love the board. Lots of great info.

I have a problem. My computer wont turn on at all. I had it shut down for a couple days, and when I went to turn it on...nothing. Completely dead. The fans never turned on, no drives start up, no lights turn on or anything. It basically shows no signs of life when the power button is pressed. It's plugged into the wall via surge protector, and I dont recall any surges or outages happening at my apartment. I popped open the case and had a look. The cords running from the motherboard to the actual power button on the front of the tower looked fine, and were still connected. No other cords had become disconnected. The case fans and interior itself were not very dirty, especially not to the point where I would suspect lack of airflow and/or overheating. The motherboard itself has a small green light lit up when plugged in and PSU switch is on; indicating its getting some sort of power. It's an Asus board, and the light is directly underneath the PCI-E slots if that helps anyone know what little light I'm referring to.

I'm just curious if my problem is actually related to the power supply, or if it's possibly another problem; possibly CPU?? I'd like to know before I go and buy one and it ends up being the other.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated..thanks guys!
SteveTango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 11:30 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


most likely the power supply.

can you post your full specs including the power supply make and model?

The green light indicates that the board is reciving some power but it does not mean everything is ok.

Try swapping the power supply with a known good one if you can borrow one, or test the one you have with a multimeter to see if it outputting the correct voltages. Click the link below

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...er-151526.html
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:20 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 11:03 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS:



I'm not positive on the CPU cuz it's my buddy's old computer that I bought off of him while he built his new one, and he only told me once. I know everything else though.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.8 GHz Socket AM2 (I'm pretty sure its this one)
MoBo: Asus M2N32 SLI Deluxe
VidCard: (2) Nvidia GeForce 8600 GTS
RAM: 4 GB Corsair RAM
PSU: OCZ Technology OCZGXS700 700w

I'd check for voltages and temps in bios, but as I said, the computer doesnt start to begin with.
SteveTango is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 01:10 PM   #5
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


see if you can borrow a known good psu to try or test the psu with a multimeter to see if it is outputting the correct voltages
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 05:06 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS:



Okay, so I finally bought a new PSU (Kingwin Mach 1 800w), installed it, and I'm getting power again. But now once I turn it on, it just sits there in limbo. There's no beep indicator from the motherboard that it made it through BIOS, and nothing shows up on my monitor indicating the system is booting (the monitor goes to power save because nothing is happening). Any ideas what's going on now?
SteveTango is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 06:20 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS:



Nevermind, I figured out the problem. The PSU is modular, and I had my graphics cards plugged in in reverse order.
SteveTango is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts