Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Running 4 sticks in dual channel?? (sticks not same size)

This is a discussion on Running 4 sticks in dual channel?? (sticks not same size) within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Right now I have 2x1gb corsair XMS2 https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034 They are in an nvidia 680i mobo https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009 I would like to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2009, 02:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Right now I have 2x1gb corsair XMS2

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

They are in an nvidia 680i mobo https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

I would like to upgrade but I'm not sure if I should just get 2x2gb sticks and remove the old ones or maybe buy an identical (but larger sized) set of corsairs and run all 4. Not sure if that would even work.

corsair xms2 (dhx, what is that?) 2x2gb https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145194

It's a higher price than my other options but if I could use it with what I currently have I would get 6gb out of the deal. It has the same timings and voltage as my current set and is the same brand. Not sure if xms2 DHX is wildly different or not.

OCZ reaper 2x2gb https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227267
has same voltage as my current memory but slightly different timings. pretty sure these wont work well with what i have...

Gskill PI 2x2gb https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231209
I was originally just going to go with this memory and replace what I have completely. I like that it runs at 1.8v and has fast timings. I usually get corsair but these looked pretty solid.


Any advice would be appreciated. Mostly I'd like to know the limitations on what chips can run together in the same system. Thanks!
buckman341 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2009, 02:26 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
FreeNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 243
OS: Windows 7/XP dual boot



In my experience using all 4 channels in your computer does not always improve performance. I would get the larger 2 x 2 GB sticks of your preference. I have run OCZ and Corsair with great luck, and my brothers are both running Gskill without issue. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the listed RAM.

Easiest way for you to know which is better is to get the new RAM. Replace your existing RAM with the new RAM, so you are running 2 x 2 GB sticks. Run 3dmark06 and record the result. Add the additional 2x1GB of RAM and run the banchmark again. Go with the RAM configuration that gave you the best performance.

I had a AMD 939 CPU with 4x1 GB of DDR 3200 RAM. I got better gaming performance in a 2x1GB config with lower latency than a 4x1 GB config. The motherboard could not support the lower latency speeds with 4GB installed. For virtualization the 4x1 GB setup was better, so it really comes down to what your needs are.
FreeNerd is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 02:28 PM   #3
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


what you should do is get rid of the ones you have now and replace with 2x2GB dimms.

Generally most mobos will not like all four slots filled especially if they are different speeds and you would probably have to change the voltages for it get some what stable.

If you are going to overclock then what I said above is mandatory. If you have two different speeds then the faster speed will default to the slower ram speed which makes it slightly pointless in buying it.

I reckon you would be better with the OCZ reaper 2x2GB.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2009, 02:29 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



2 gig sticks and 1 gig sticks uses the same amount of power to run, for that reason 2 sticks of 2gig each are better then 4 sticks, a lot of motherboards the 680i being one can have problems when filling all the ram slots.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 03:33 PM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Same as above. Go with a 2X2 GB Matched Pair. Mixing RAM and filling all the slots on the Mobo can cause issues.
OCZ-Corsair-G.Skill are all good brands. OCZ and Corsair have the better prices for now.

I use OCZ
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227199
And Corsair
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145184



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts