Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RESOLVED Upgrading PSU for Dell Dimension 4700

This is a discussion on RESOLVED Upgrading PSU for Dell Dimension 4700 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I just recently purchased a new graphics card, EVGA GeForce 7600 GT, and it recommends a min. 350


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2007, 05:39 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



Hello all,

I just recently purchased a new graphics card, EVGA GeForce 7600 GT, and it recommends a min. 350 watt psu. I'm looking to upgrade to a 400+ watt power supply, but i've noticed on several forums that Dell psu's are specifically made for their computers. My question is, what do I need to know about aftermarket psu's to be sure it will work with my system, and not fry my mobo or anything else? I know that PC power and cooling has a psu specifically made for my system, but the price is unreasonable. Any help would be greatly appreciated. My system specs are on left side.
justacarpenter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2007, 05:51 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,180
OS:



Hi

Please could you tell me your service tag number please its located at the back of your computer. Thanks
Jaymie1989 is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 07:57 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



Service tag = F4G0P71
justacarpenter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2007, 09:26 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,180
OS:



Yes you can use any CPU as long as it will have the right plugs for your parts.

I recomend places like www.microdirect.co.uk and www.ebuyer.co.uk

Good Luck
Jaymie1989 is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 09:37 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


i dont know a bout that dells are very picky about there parts
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 11:25 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,180
OS:



I spoke to dell about it and they said yes you can do it
Jaymie1989 is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:04 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



thanks for your help, i'll post an update asap.
justacarpenter is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 03:59 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



I would look at one of the dell units from PC Power and Cooling.
https://www.pcpower.com/products/view....php?show=S47D

Dell has a history of using proprietary parts.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 09:05 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



yeah, I think I'm going to have to go with a pc power and cooling dell unit. The mounting screws in the back are arranged a certain way, and there's no way i'm buying something that isnt going to work. Thats a tad annoying. Thanks.
justacarpenter is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 03:20 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



You're welcome.
TheMatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RESOLVED Help with upgrading hard drive
Hey guys, I've recently decided to upgrade my laptop's hard drive to a bigger one, and would like some guidance. I have an IBM ThinkPad R50e, currently with a 33GB hard drive. I have just purchased a new 120GB hard drive, and need to check it will work with my laptop. It says it is a Samsung...
pelling Hard Drive Support 15 01-28-2007 03:57 PM
Upgrading power supply for my dell dimension 2300
I want to upgrade the power supply for my Dell Dimension 2300 and have calculated that I need about 400W. Am considering an FSP 400W version 2.0 PSU and would like to know if this will work in my system as I am aware that there can be problems with fitting an ordinary ATX PSU in some old Dell...
paolo123 Other Hardware Support 2 08-30-2006 07:30 AM
Asus P4SD-VL and upgrading the PSU
i've been google'ing around looking for upgrading the psu on my p4sd-vl mobo. i've read several topics about how people have succesfully upgraded the psu and some others frying their mobo. can i upgrade my psu or not ? and if so, could i exceed 400w ? thx in adv.
iCiCLEz Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 05-21-2006 12:55 PM
Upgrading my PSU...
I'm currently looking for a new power supply I don't have much money to spend (around $100 less would be better). I'm considering one of these: Cooler Master 600W $90 Cooler Master 550W $105 The main reason I'm looking at these two is because I can go down the street and buy them rather...
jnob Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 10 04-03-2006 03:56 AM
Upgrading CPU in Dell Dimension 8400
Have Dell Dimension 8400 with 3.0ghz HT CPU 5xx serioes with 1mb of [email protected] cache. May be getting a cheap 3.6ghz chip that was pulled from a Dell without the Heatsink. Question 1: Can the current heatsink and fan in my Dell support the 3.6 GHZ LGA 775 (same socket as current 3.0 ghz) CPU or do I...
pcumming Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 2 05-08-2005 09:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts