Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

[resolved]random shutdowns/restarts help me

This is a discussion on [resolved]random shutdowns/restarts help me within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. yo dudes i wasent sure where to post so i whacked it here, my pc randomly shuts down or restarts


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2007, 08:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



yo dudes i wasent sure where to post so i whacked it here, my pc randomly shuts down or restarts for wat seems to be no apparent reason it does it in games and just surfing the net, i get no error messages or anything and my temperatures seem reasonable my cpu is usually around 35-42(42-50 under load) and gpu is usually 32-41(45-49 under load) my pc will do this even if im not overclocking anything any help or recommendations would be appreciated.
Thx alot

Asus a8n-sli mobo
Bfg 7900 gt 512mg gpu 2.4ghz
Amd athlon x2 4600+ cpu
Western digital hard drive 150gb
1.5 gb RAM
Winpower 450 watt psu
theantman2007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2007, 09:01 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

Enter your full system specs into this power calculator, and add 30% to the total to allow for PSU inefficiency. You can use Everest to find your specs.

Open the case and check for any loose connections or leaking capacitors on the motherboard. While the case is open, copy down the details from the PSU label (make/model, total watts, amps for +3.3V, +5V and +12V).

EDIT: The Winpower 450W is a low quality PSU costing about 15
koala is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



i made the recommended psu wattage to be 492.7 also it says on side of my psu
+3.3v = 28A, +5v = 40A, +12v = 20A. means nothing to me lol
theantman2007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2007, 09:34 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


You'll need to replace the PSU. If you get 492W including the extra 30% then go for a good quality 550W. If you didn't add the 30% you'll need at least a 650W.

I have a similar setup to yours (see My System on the left) with a 650W Thermaltake which has strong +12V rails, needed for system stability. Unfortunately your Winpower 450W is not good enough quality.
koala is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



k thx alot dude ebay here i come! :)
theantman2007 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:40 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



would this do its all i can afford atm. (btw that rating was including the 30%)
cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=003&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=130115037752&rd=1&rd=1
theantman2007 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:44 AM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


No, that's not much better than your current one. You need 550W minimum, and that's if you won't be adding any more components like drives, RAM sticks, USB devices, etc which all require extra power.

Some good names to look for include Antec, Enermax, Seasonic, OCZ and Thermaltake. Make sure you check the +12V output in the product details, it will need to be more than 20A to run a 7900GT card.

These are the kind of quality PSUs you need to be looking at to prevent crashes.....

Antec True Power Trio 550W, 55
OCZ 600W, 65
Antec NeoPower 550W, 72
koala is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 02:34 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

very sound advice you have been given!




I would buy one of the three PSU units that Koala has linked in his signature before you kill some of your computer components

unstable power is very rough on electrical computer parts; when you fry a video card or some memory that cheap power supply then becomes rather dear in price!
linderman is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 02:39 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



thx dudes ill get a new psu see wat happens and post back
theantman2007 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:09 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: middle of nowhere england
Posts: 11
OS: xp



I got a new antec 550 watt psu and ive been testing for a couple of hours and all seems well except a blue screen but that was due to getting optimistic with overclocking, thx alot koala
theantman2007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts