Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Replacing a PSU

This is a discussion on Replacing a PSU within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I replaced an (old Iím informed) Seventeam st-300BLP 20 Pin Connector, 4 Pin 12V, 5 x Molex Connections, ATX with


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By xtechnouser
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2018, 03:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stow on the Wold, Gloucs, UK
Posts: 8
OS: WIN7X64



I replaced an (old Iím informed) Seventeam st-300BLP 20 Pin Connector, 4 Pin 12V, 5 x Molex Connections, ATX with an Aerocool Integrator 500W 12cm Power Supply Unit all fitted AOK as I replaced the connections one by one so there was no mistakes. Connected up pushed the switch no action, since everything was replaced I looked at the Power on/off switch the replacement is shorter and there is a spur with two jack connector, so this must be my problem? Advice needed, I'm no tech but I get by. I usually get posting wrong so I hope I attached the image file correctly. BC
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	onoff.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	195.6 KB
ID:	320250  
beecee42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2018, 04:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

I think, based on your picture, you are connecting the PCI-E Connectors to CPU Connectors. The PCI-E Connectors can be disassembled in 6-Pin plus 2-Pin, which in your case, your currently holding. The CPU Connector, the one that should be connected to thee motherboard, can be disassembled in 4-Pin plus 4-Pin. Both the PCI-E and CPU Connectors have a total of 8-Pins, but the PCI-E Connectors cannot be disassembled by 4-Pins plus 4-Pins.
beecee42 likes this.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 05-31-2018, 07:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stow on the Wold, Gloucs, UK
Posts: 8
OS: WIN7X64



Hi xtechnouser
Many thanks for your reply.

Ok I'm not the brightest spark etc, so are you saying I need to change the cable or use another connection aka I'm a little bit lost on this one?
Cheers BC
beecee42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2018, 08:23 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Quote:
Originally Posted by beecee42 View Post
Hi xtechnouser
Many thanks for your reply.

Ok I'm not the brightest spark etc, so are you saying I need to change the cable or use another connection aka I'm a little bit lost on this one?
Cheers BC
Hello!

Based on your uploaded picture, you are holding the PCI-E Power Connector. Which in case, should not or should never be inserted or connected to the motherboard. Because, it is designed for the Graphics Card.

You are holding the PCI-E Connector, look at the reference on attached photo. You cannot disassemble it into 4+4 pins right? Because it is for graphics card. You can only disassemble it into 6+2 pins. Because some graphics cards require 6-pins, others 8-pins.

Not like in the CPU Connector, some motherboards, only need 4-pins, others, 8-pins.

Find the right CPU Connector on your Power Supply my friend, see attached photo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU Connector.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	320252  
Attached Images
 
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 05-31-2018, 08:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stow on the Wold, Gloucs, UK
Posts: 8
OS: WIN7X64



Hi xtechnouser

Wow, thanks I'm a bit long in the tooth so I don't panic. I've been here too often after having PCs for 30+ years. I'll dig it all out later as I had to put it away, as Madam doesn't like the sitting room looking like a repair shop (unless it's her PC)!

Cheers from Blighty - Ben
beecee42 is offline  
Old 05-31-2018, 09:06 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

No worries!
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 06-02-2018, 06:39 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stow on the Wold, Gloucs, UK
Posts: 8
OS: WIN7X64



Hi
Yeah got power but no activity, so need to see what the issue is. Will post the outcome. BC
beecee42 is offline  
Old 06-02-2018, 08:28 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Quote:
Originally Posted by beecee42 View Post
Hi
Yeah got power but no activity, so need to see what the issue is. Will post the outcome. BC
Well, I hope that you did not fried or damage the motherboard / processor by inserting the PCI-E Connector. This is so because, the CPU and PCI-E Connectors have different polarity. Take a look at the attachment, you can see that both cables are completely different.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1000x2000px-LL-ac82eb1d_pinout.png
Views:	30
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	320272  
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 04:45 PM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


The odds are you did not fry the board because it did not even try to bootup but you need to take the 8 pin cable marked CPU in the picture and split it to get the 4 you need for your plug out of it.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master EX2 625 PSU Fan Weird Sound & Moving Slowly
Sorry, this question might sounds silly. Earlier when I first switched on my PC, I noticed a weird sound, something like brrr.. brrr.. brrr.. and I noticed that it comes from the PSU fan. When I touched the PSU case, it seems to vibrate a little when the fan was making the weird sound. At...
vista87 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 11-16-2014 06:27 AM
Is something wrong with my psu?
Hey people. My psu recently died. My old PSU (zalman 600-p) started whistling and only way I could turn on my computer was to switch the power off and on and wait five seconds, but now tha doesn't work as my computers LED blinks and its fans turn and wouldn't turn. So I bought a new psu made...
Kevin2202 Other Hardware Support 10 03-26-2012 05:44 PM
[SOLVED] Graphics card or PSU problem?
Hi there, I was just wondering if anyone could help me. Me PC for the last couple of days has been crashing (mostly while gaming) and I'm not sure if the problem is caused either by the Graphics card or PSU. Here are my system specs (self-built): PNY GeForce 9800 GX2 Unbranded (was pretty...
Tom1122 Video Card Support 5 07-18-2011 10:03 AM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts