Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM/Vista Score Problems

This is a discussion on RAM/Vista Score Problems within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys i am having a bit of an issue with the Vista score system. Basically every score i have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2008, 11:41 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
OS:



Hey guys i am having a bit of an issue with the Vista score system. Basically every score i have is 5.9 with the exception of the 4GB of RAM which is letting it down and only getting 5.3. I recently bought an extra 4GB of the same RAM but i noticed that even with 8GB of RAM the score is still 5.3! Any ideas as to why it hasnt bumped it up? I know it is only PC6400 and not PC8500 but surely it should bump the score up now i have doubled the RAM.

Spec is:

OS: Vista Home Premium 64Bit
MB: Abit IP35 Pro
CPU: Intel Quad Core Q6600
GFX: Geforce GTX 260
RAM: 8Gb Corsair TwinX XMS2
HDD: 500Gb Western Digitial
Case: Antec 900 Series
CraigCamacho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2008, 12:12 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

I dont think anybody knows how the vista rating thing works.

E6750 @ 3 GHz: 5.7
4 GB OCZ SLI DDR-800 overclocked at 858 MHz: 5.7
9800 GTX overclocked: 5.9 and 5.9
IDE 320 GB Wester Digital DE16: 5.4 (I'm sure an equiv SATA drive would bump that up)
magnethead is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 12:38 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



The number has to do with the speed of the ram not the amount.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2008, 01:07 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
The number has to do with the speed of the ram not the amount.
but do we know f it's on a 6 scale or 10? And do we know what is considered a top score?
magnethead is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:40 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



Not even Bill Gates knows for sure:)
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts