Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM Upgrade Advice

This is a discussion on RAM Upgrade Advice within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Here is the motherboard info first: Manufacturers : Pc Chips Model: P23G V.3.0 https://www.ascendtech.us/itemdesc.as...23GV30&eq=&Tp= Single-channel as far as I understand


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2008, 10:42 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:


Question

Here is the motherboard info first:

Manufacturers : Pc Chips
Model: P23G V.3.0
https://www.ascendtech.us/itemdesc.as...23GV30&eq=&Tp=

Single-channel as far as I understand

The thing is that I would like to buy 2 GB Dual Channel 2048MB PC2-4200 DDR2 Memory RAM NEW!

2GB Kit (2x1GB) PC2-4200 533MHz DDR2 Desktop DIMMs
Part No. MD2048KD2-533
https://www2.pny.com/2GB-Kit-2x1GB-PC...-P1765C31.aspx

Compatible With:
DDR2 PC2-4200 (533 MHz Bus Speed)
DDR2 PC2-3200 (400 MHz Bus Speed)

I am little bit confused about the dual channel mode, however, this motherboard understand doesn't support it?

But my question is no matter that the motherboard doesn't support it can I go ahead to buy them and will work anyway?

If yes, how I should put them in the slots because there are four two orange and two purple. "2 x 240-pin DDR2DIMM socket support up to 2 GB" but are the orange or purple ones? I don't know which ones are Both sticks should be put together on the same color? I am thinking that both should be put together in the orange slots which are DDR2 533Mhz but not sure, please take a look at the link that shows the motherboard specs. Honestly your response will be appreciated.

Otherwise, if they won't work in my motherboard please let me know before I make the purchase.
sullayka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2008, 11:15 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,551
OS:



If you look at the two different coloured Ram slots you will see a riser in them. The position of the riser facilitates the loading of the CORRECT Ram. You cannot insert a 184 pin ram chip into a 240 pin slot.
According to the specs you have listed your brd only takes 2 sticks of 1 gig ram = 2 gigs.
I have no experience with Intel, but with the brd specs you have indicated it would have to be Dual.
If you do buy and insert the new Ram , make sure not to touch the Gold pins on the Ram stick and earth yourself before inserting it.
belfasteddie is offline  
Old 07-04-2008, 12:06 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

the reason different ports are different colors is because of pairing. If you have 2 sticks, they go in the same colored slots. If you have an odd numbered number, 2 go in the same color and the third will usually go in the middle slot.
magnethead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2008, 11:51 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:


Question

My concern is Can I go ahead and buy the RAM dual channel? no matter that the motherboard with Single Channel and doesn't support dual channel.

Does it matter if the memory description has "dual channel" and other not?

I will appreciate any reply
sullayka is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 08:31 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



can someone please help me on this decision?
sullayka is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 07:37 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 60
OS:



"Dual Channel Memory Mode" is a function of the motherboard. There is no such thing as Dual Channel Memory per se. There ARE dual channel kits, so called because 2 sticks were manufactured about the same time and/or have very similar operating characteristics. Some companies actually test and match similar sticks for their "Dual Channel Kits". The reason being that mismatched RAM in the same channel of a Dual Channel Memory Mode motherboard can cause problems. The dual channel kit should work fine in your Single Channel Memory Mode application if the brand/type is supported by your board.

It may be worthwhile to check the QVL list for memory on your motherboard's web page. Some manufacturers are better than others about updating the list of RAM which has been tested for a particular board. Another option would be to use the RAM 'configurator' located on your RAM of choice's website. OR, you could email your board's manufacturer and ask if the brand RAM you've chosen is compatable. Lastly you can cross your fingers and hope for the best.
Cobracon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts