Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM unusually high Windows 8.1

This is a discussion on RAM unusually high Windows 8.1 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hiya! All of a sudden, my RAM usage is at 4GB+ on idle, even after a computer restart. In my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2016, 10:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Hiya!

All of a sudden, my RAM usage is at 4GB+ on idle, even after a computer restart. In my task manager, if all programs are counted manually, they don't exceed 1.5GB, so why is it displaying 4GB+ as well as acting like it?

While playing a game and recording, it jumped to 10-11GB of RAM. This is not normal at all, I usually get 6-8GB usage while doing the same stuff.

This just happened suddenly while I was playing, I didn't just install anything.

I ran memtest last night for a different issue, and after 2 passes it didn't have any errors.

I have 16GB of DDR4 @ 2200Mhz.
As for the paging file, I've tried no paging file, automatic and system managed. All the same result.

Could anyone help me fix this problem?
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2016, 10:49 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,415
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Generally, when there is high unaccounted CPU and or RAM useage, most of the time it's do to a Virus, rootkit or malware/spyware, unauthorized browser plugin or browser being hijacked.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 01-26-2016, 11:22 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,519
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I think bassfisher is right here that kind of a jump is usually Malware related. Why not try running Malwarebytes and see what it finds.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2016, 04:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Thanks for the replies.

I've done all tests possible, as well as rootkit scans in all of my drives with Malwarebytes yet nothing was found whatsoever.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-27-2016, 05:29 AM   #5
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,415
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Try this one, it will find malware that's deeply embedded in a system. I have it and use it faithfully on systems that need thoroughly cleaned.

Norton Power Eraser.......it works and works well, it's a stand alone .exe.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 01-27-2016, 06:44 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Try this one, it will find malware that's deeply embedded in a system. I have it and use it faithfully on systems that need thoroughly cleaned.

Norton Power Eraser.......it works and works well, it's a stand alone .exe.
I ran it and it found one thing it marked as "Bad". I am familiar with this program (play withSix), as it's a popular mod downloader for Bohemia Interactive games. I removed it anyway and restarted my computer to be sure, but to no avail. I'm still having the issue.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 03:02 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,619
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



Post a screenshot of Task Manager - Performance tab showing memory information when the problem occurs.
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 05:02 PM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,415
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Next...try running Adwcleaner......
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 09:04 PM   #9
Hardware Team
Games Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia, Perth
Posts: 4,651
OS: Windows 10 64-bit Pro

My System


Are you also counting "Standby" memory. This reserved RAM is also counted as Used RAM but can be released to any program on demand. Basically instead of Windows keeping commonly used program on the HDD or in Pagefile which is x1000 slower than RAM, it keeps it in the RAM. Makes sense..
This will not hamper your PCs performance in anyway in fact it will keep it fast.
Aus_Karlos is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 09:29 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by LMiller7 View Post
Post a screenshot of Task Manager - Performance tab showing memory information when the problem occurs.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 09:36 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Next...try running Adwcleaner......
It removed "YSearchUtil" and restarted, but the issue is still there.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 09:49 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Aus_Karlos View Post
Are you also counting "Standby" memory. This reserved RAM is also counted as Used RAM but can be released to any program on demand. Basically instead of Windows keeping commonly used program on the HDD or in Pagefile which is x1000 slower than RAM, it keeps it in the RAM. Makes sense..
This will not hamper your PCs performance in anyway in fact it will keep it fast.
As seen in the screenshot I've just posted, the non-paged pool is 1.3GB. After looking into it, it seems that this may be what's causing the problem if I'm not mistaken. Am I correct in saying it shouldn't be more than a few hundred megabytes and not 1.3GB unless it's a memory leak?
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 10:39 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,619
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



The Non Paged pool memory is very high. Typically it would be less than the Paged Pool. This is usually caused by a driver problem or malware.

Standby memory has been placed in the standby list because it has not been recently accessed. It serves a dual role. It can be reclaimed by the owning application or it can be reassigned to any application that needs it. If the original application needs the data after it has been reassigned it will be reloaded from the original files or the pagefile as appropriate. This memory is not reserved and is considered available. Typically most of available memory will be on the standby list and that is good. Free memory should be as low as possible, zero being the optimum value. Unfortunately that isn't always possible.
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 11:16 AM   #14
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,694
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


You could try tracking down the culprit using RAMMap: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...ls/rammap.aspx

Sit back and watch the video first (make notes of timings so you can quickly zip back to the relevant parts): https://channel9.msdn.com/Shows/Defr...Tools-6-RAMMap
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 01:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



On a side note, I'm having memory issues with a game I play a lot as well. See this thread: https://forums.bistudio.com/topic/18...-and-graphics/ .

Perhaps they do indeed have something to do with each other? However, they had about 2 weeks seperation between their starting dates.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 01-29-2016, 04:08 PM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,694
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


That gaming issue is a tricky one, following that paper trail to dig out useful info might be impossible, for instance, the "Display Driver has stopped responding and has recovered" topic is a 0x117 TDR, not directly related to yours I don't think, it's also a real challenge to fix, so many possible causes, so few workarounds :(
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:24 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Hiya! Just got back from vacation and my non-paged pool is now at 4.4GB on idle. I could not personally find anything with RAMMap.

At this point I'm willing to get in a teamviewer session with one of you so you can perhaps troubleshoot the issue with me.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 12:03 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
NenjiAvero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 65
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Try ADW Cleaner and Junk Removal Tool

Be sure to turn off your Anti-Virus before starting any of these. After they're finished, start your Anti-Virus and do a Cleanup (CCleaner or similar).
NenjiAvero is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 09:23 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by NenjiAvero View Post
Try ADW Cleaner and Junk Removal Tool

Be sure to turn off your Anti-Virus before starting any of these. After they're finished, start your Anti-Virus and do a Cleanup (CCleaner or similar).
I have done exactly what you wrote to still no avail.

Quote:
# AdwCleaner v5.031 - Logfile created 29/01/2016 at 18:07:59
# Updated 25/01/2016 by Xplode
# Database : 2016-01-25.3 [Server]
# Operating system : Windows 8.1 (x64)
# Username : Christopher - SKILLER-DESKTOP
# Running from : C:\Users\Christopher\Downloads\adwcleaner_5.031.exe
# Option : Scan
# Support : ToolsLib - Forum: Ask for help or share your experience.

***** [ Services ] *****


***** [ Folders ] *****

Folder Found : C:\Users\Christopher\AppData\Local\YSearchUtil
Folder Found : C:\Windows\SysWOW64\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\YSearchUtil

***** [ Files ] *****

File Found : C:\Users\Christopher\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Local Storage\hxxp_st.chatango.com_0.localstorage

***** [ DLL ] *****


***** [ Shortcuts ] *****


***** [ Scheduled tasks ] *****

Task Found : update-sys
Task Found : update-S-1-5-21-2141213125-1674639302-1041283074-1001
Task Found : update-sys
Task Found : update-S-1-5-21-2141213125-1674639302-1041283074-1001
Task Found : update-sys

***** [ Registry ] *****

Key Found : HKLM\SOFTWARE\Google\Chrome\Extensions\npdicihegicnhaangkdmcgbjceoemeoo

***** [ Web browsers ] *****

[C:\Users\Christopher\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Secure Preferences] [Extension] Found : npdicihegicnhaangkdmcgbjceoemeoo

########## EOF - C:\AdwCleaner\AdwCleaner[S1].txt - [1299 bytes] ##########
Quote:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Junkware Removal Tool (JRT) by Malwarebytes
Version: 8.0.3 (02.09.2016)
Operating System: Windows 8.1 x64
Ran by Christopher (Administrator) on Mon 02/22/2016 at 18:07:17.65
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~




File System: 1

Successfully deleted: C:\Users\Christopher\AppData\Local\crashrpt (Folder)



Registry: 0





~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Scan was completed on Mon 02/22/2016 at 18:08:06.25
End of JRT log
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:53 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
SkillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 60
OS: Windows 8.1



Does anyone have anymore help they can give me? I'm getting desperate.
SkillerPenguin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
Slow computer- UDS:Dangerous.Object.Multi Generic
Hi I have a Toshiba Satellite with a pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.00 GHz, with 768 Mb of Ram, running on XP SP3. It is very, very slow, often hanging on trying to open an Internet page. I ran various svans: Malwarebytes, Superantispyware, AVG, and finally Kaspersly. The latter came up with...
qimqim Inactive Malware Help Topics 38 12-03-2013 04:54 AM
Suspecting infection deep in the system
I've had a major problem with my laptop for quite a while now. When I launch certain programs I get the following error -> X.exe - Application Error The application failed to initialize properly (0xc000007b) Click OK to terminate the application. This error comes up if I try to start my...
Starenigma Resolved HJT Threads 17 05-01-2013 04:04 AM
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts