Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM Question- Diff speeds allowed?

This is a discussion on RAM Question- Diff speeds allowed? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I am thinking about upgrading my computer with some more ram. The motherboard and RAM I currently have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2008, 01:46 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Hello all,

I am thinking about upgrading my computer with some more ram. The motherboard and RAM I currently have will be at the bottom of the post. Basically my question is that I was thinking about getting another 2 (2x1) gigs to add to my current 4 (2x2), and I was wondering if I could get a different, higher speed than the last sticks. My processor (also posted at end) has a FSB of 1333mhz, so I was hoping to maybe get some faster RAM than the usual 800mhz, like what my other sticks are. I dont really know if it works this way or if Im allowed to have different speeds, so I was hoping you could answer this for me. Or maybe the system would run faster if I just got another 2x2gig at 800mhz, that would certainly be cheaper but I dont know if that would mean better perfomance. Im basically just looking for the biggest performance increase with filling up those other 2 ram sockets on my mobo. Some guidance here would be very appreciated. The system is mostly used for gaming, and I will be running Vista 64bit by the time I am ready to buy some more RAM.

Heres what I'm running:

Mobo- https://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813128012

CPU- https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115028

RAM-https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227248
lolwtfinternet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


yes you can mix it up, what I found just today was, say you had DDR2800 sticks then you go buy DDR21066 sticks to add to that, the 1066 sticks will only run at 800MHz
10pmStalker is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 07:44 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



So then you CAN mix them up, but the faster sticks will be bottlenecked by the slower sticks? In other words, it would be pointless to spend money on high frequency RAM if you have lower frequency RAM in the same system.

I'd like some more info on this if possible.
lolwtfinternet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2008, 09:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


yes, as far as I can tell. I learned that the hard way, unless someone can tell me different and show me how to set it up.. I have 2GB 667 ram and 2GB 800 ram. Its all running at 667
10pmStalker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts