Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM or motherboard? Test results

This is a discussion on RAM or motherboard? Test results within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been getting BSODs with random reasons - nothing consistent. I'm fairly certain it is either the motherboard or


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Bill_Bright
  • 2 Post By Bill_Bright
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2019, 02:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
OS:


Question

I have been getting BSODs with random reasons - nothing consistent. I'm fairly certain it is either the motherboard or the RAM.

My motherboard is a ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+. My RAM is 4 sticks of CORSAIR Vengeance 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600MHz (PC3 12800) 9-9-9-24.

I ran MemTest86 and here are the results:


- Tested all 4 sticks installed.
= over 10,000 errors. MemTest86 aborted.

- Tested each stick installed separately, one at a time, in slot A2.
= No errors.

- Tested sticks 1 and 3 in slots A2 and B2.
= Test 8 had 1 error and Test 9 had 1 error.

- Tested sticks 2 and 4 in slots A2 and B2.
= No errors.

- Tested sticks 1 and 3 in slots A1 and B1.
= over 10,004 errors. MemTest86 aborted. 26/40 passed 65%.

- Tested sticks 2 and 4 in slots A1 and B1.
= No errors.

It ran over 24 hours with the sticks 2 and 4 in slots A2 and B2. Well, I just got home from work and see that it is at a BSOD screen. So I am taking the 2 good sticks and putting them in slots A1 and B1 to see how that goes.


What do you think?

Thanks,
Murf
_Murf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2019, 06:34 AM   #2
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Typically, if any errors, even 1, the RAM is bad. Sadly, no software memory tester is 100% conclusive. That takes very expensive hardware to do that. So swapping in new RAM is about the only way to conclusively test it.

RAM can also test with no errors individually, then fail when in use or when paired with other RAM. So it just becomes a process of elimination.
vanukuru.vinod likes this.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-05-2019, 07:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
OS:


Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Bright View Post
Typically, if any errors, even 1, the RAM is bad. Sadly, no software memory tester is 100% conclusive. That takes very expensive hardware to do that. So swapping in new RAM is about the only way to conclusively test it.

RAM can also test with no errors individually, then fail when in use or when paired with other RAM. So it just becomes a process of elimination.
Hey Bill,
Thanks for the info. I believe Corsair has a lifetime warranty. I will give them my test results and see where that leads.
Thanks
_Murf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2019, 08:05 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
I believe Corsair has a lifetime warranty.
Fortunately, almost all RAM does. :) But there's a reason for that - its pretty reliable stuff.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-22-2019, 06:42 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
OS:


UPDATE:
I returned the defective 2 stick RAM set under warranty and received a new set. I put the new set in with the old set (4 sticks, 16GB) and ran memtest86. No errors.
I formatted my HD and did a new install of Windows 10. The random/various BSODs returned. I'm figuring it is the HD. So I borrow a barely used HD. I format it and install Windows 10. At first it appeared good, but the random/various reasons BSODs returned. And it seems like it builds, they become more and more frequent as I try to keep it running.
So is the only thing left that can be the culprit is the motherboard?
_Murf is offline  
Old 04-23-2019, 04:46 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Random error codes are typically a hardware issue. Motherboard or power supply would be likely.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 04-23-2019, 06:39 AM   #7
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
So is the only thing left that can be the culprit is the motherboard?
Since everything inside the computer depends on good, clean, stable power, I sure would swap in a known good power supply first before messing with the motherboard.

Are your temps good?
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-23-2019, 09:30 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
OS:



My case temps run in the low 20's Celsius. When playing games it will get up to 34 degrees.
_Murf is offline  
Old 04-23-2019, 10:00 AM   #9
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Those are certainly most excellent. So IMO, you need to borrow and swap in a different PSU. It would not be good to swap out motherboards only to find you still have the same problem.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-29-2019, 04:34 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
OS:



SOLVED:

The initial problem was caused by a set of RAM that went bad.

The secondary problem of still getting BSODs after replacing the RAM was caused by me after putting in the new RAM, I did not got into BIOS and "Optimized Defaults". I am not sure why I needed to do that being the new RAM was identical to old RAM, but once I did that I have not had a BSOD since. Everything else on my PC is the same equipment I had when the issue started. Go figure.
_Murf is offline  
Old 04-30-2019, 07:51 AM   #11
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


I don't see how going into the BIOS Setup menu and changing that setting fixed this either - except - maybe - there was some errant or corrupt setting in there (perhaps all along) that then got reset properly when you told it to Optimize Defaults.

Anyway, I am glad you got it sorted out and its working now. Thanks for posting your followup. :)
vanukuru.vinod and _Murf like this.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:34 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Great job you two why not mark this solved Murf in the first post under "Thread Tools" in the first post.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Writing Errors
Hi :wave:, I hope someone can help me out here. I'm having trouble with burning files to a DVD/CD. I usually used Nero and I used to burn files, videos and audios without problems. However just recently I encountered Burned Process Failed at 8x... while using Nero 6. I tried to solve it by...
umami Removable Media Drives 3 08-20-2009 08:44 AM
Text box editing in GIMP
Hey, I'm new to Gimp (using windows version) and any advanced photo editing software for that matter. I'm editing a file which a colleague made in Gimp. All I need to do is edit the text boxes. I edited one fine. Then I went to edit another one but when I right click there is no text tool...
primal100 Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia 3 04-01-2009 12:26 AM
Calibration area full
Can anyone help.im trying to burn music on Nero and im getting msg "calibration area full" which is stopping me being able to burn.:4-dontkno
freeze123 Removable Media Drives 3 12-05-2005 05:43 PM
Nero Help
Ok Here We Go. Been Using Nero All Week Burnin Dvd`s Music Cd`s Etc And Al Of A Sudden I Cant Copt Music Cd`s But I Can Copy Dvd`s, There cant be Nothing Wrong With The Cd`s Because I Bought Them In Bulk (10 Packs Of 25 Memorex 700MB CD-R) I have Used 4 Packs So It Cant Be Them. I Also Formated...
Phil Crane Other Hardware Support 22 12-01-2005 07:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts