Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

RAM issue?

This is a discussion on RAM issue? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently took up repairing an old Dell Dimension e510 I had sitting around to give to a younger relative.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2016, 11:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: win 7



I recently took up repairing an old Dell Dimension e510 I had sitting around to give to a younger relative. I noticed that the system seems to be moving very slowly. I know that the max RAM spec'd is 4gb (4 slots x 1gb). However, crucial.com shows max of 8gb. Out of curiosity I loaded up 4x2gb sticks to see what would happen. BIOS recognizes all slots with 2gb, but the system will not load windows with 8gb installed. I took out 2 sticks, and am now running 4gb (2x2gb). However the system seems to be running very slowly. Could this be cause by the RAM? Or is it more likely to be a HDD issue? I went to the Dell site and tried to run their SupportAssist app, which checks all your drivers and hardware which is supposed to take about an hour but twice, I have let it run for 6-7 hours and it was still not complete. It seems to get hung up when it is running diagnostics on the HDD as well. Well, that's my problem in a nutshell. Let me know what you guys think
axeinurface is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2016, 12:05 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



The system running slow is probably not related to RAM unless the system is using all of the physical memory and having to swap to the disk a lot. It could be a hard drive issue if the diagnostic is hanging when testing the drive.

If you want to reset the PC, I'd suggest doing a factory restore which will delete everything on the computer and put a clean operating system back on along with the drivers.

If your system has a recovery partition you can typically restore through the alternate boot menu (F8) before Windows loads or using the Dell recovery utility installed on the PC. If you don't have a recovery partition you would need an install disc.
__________________
[url=https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/announcement.php?f=299&a=105]

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 06-27-2016, 10:04 PM   #3
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

It's possible that the hard drive is bad on the computer. I recommend downloading a great HDD diagnostics utility called "Seatools" which can be found here = SeaTools for Windows | Seagate

Install Seatools on your computer, test the HDD, and see if Seatools post any errors. If so, then the computer HDD needs to be replaced.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2016, 01:26 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: win 7



I will try to do the restore if nothing else works. I found a couple new drivers to try to install and I ran chkdsk and DELL HDD diag tool, which has actually sped the system up considerably. For some reason SeaTools won't run on that system. It gives me a pop-up about a bad DLL or something. But chkdsk said everything is okay, so I'm willing to take that. I will keep posted, but I think I am almost there. Thanks y'all.
axeinurface is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Usable RAM issue.
First of all, good day everyone! Now i'm having an issue with the build I just assembled. First and foremost I am running Windows 7 Professional x64 bit. System Information is telling me that I have 8GB installed ram, 4GB usable, and only 2.39GB available. Now what also struck me as odd was...
Ukiah RAM and Power Supply Support 30 02-07-2012 11:46 AM
Windows 7 RAM Issue
Hi, I have purchased new Acer Aspire laptop. The laptop came with Linux OS and 3 GB RAM. I removed Linux then installed 32 Bit Windows 7 Professional Operating System and upgraded to 6GB of RAM. Now, it shows installed memory is 6GB but usable memory is 2.3 GB. What Can I do to get full...
jainpulickal RAM and Power Supply Support 7 12-05-2011 10:09 PM
Strange PC problems - Seems to be RAM related.
Note: Info regarding why the ram seems to be the issue is towards the bottom (as it took me some time to find out this happened when i changed ram) Ok well i moved from Manchester to leeds - before that my pc was idle for 2 weeks and my mum moved it to put my room back to normal after my stay...
Jamiekeese RAM and Power Supply Support 12 10-19-2011 11:16 AM
Issue with New Motherboard - won't boot with 2 sticks of RAM, just 1
Hi everyone! I could use a little help with this nagging issue I have with my computer that I built myself. Everything has been fine for years until the PCI-E slot of my last mobo died and I replaced it with an MSI G41TM-E43 with my Core 2 Duo 1.8 processor. I have 2 sticks of RAM - Corsair, 1...
weedandbombs Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 05-06-2011 04:02 PM
[SOLVED] New RAM issue
hey guys. I jus purchased a new kingston 4gb ram stick yesterday. I already have a kingston 4gb stick in my desktop. The new ram i bought has the serial number :KVR1333D3N9K2 and my previous one is :KVR1333D3N9 My motherboard is GA-X58A-UD3R. OS : Windows 7...
MezzaOne RAM and Power Supply Support 6 03-16-2011 05:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts