User Tag List

Ram

This is a discussion on Ram within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Which ram is the best for buy?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2018, 10:50 PM   #1
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 9
OS: win10



Which ram is the best for buy?
Bivhab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2018, 06:26 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,325
OS: Windows 10 Pro



We have no clue.....as we need your system specs to determine that. If you asking about what brand is better....that's debatable as everyone is partial to their own brand.

Personally, I like Corsair and Gskill for brands.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is online now  
Old 07-21-2018, 07:12 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,471
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I vote for Crucial and Gskill (both Micron ram) but as stated we need to know more to intelligently answer you. Laptop or desktop? Main functions i.e. gaming or word processing?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2018, 09:15 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


I really don't have a brand favorite. I will buy Crucial, Mushkin, Corsair, Kingston, GSkill - just about any popular brand, as long as it meets the specs of RAM listed on the motherboard's QVL (qualified vendors list).

I note there really are very few actual memory "chip" makers - primarily Samsung, SK Hynix and Micron. They then sell those chips to be mounted on sticks and sold under various brand names.

Actually, it is very hard to find RAM that is not warrantied for life.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 07-22-2018, 10:44 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Bright View Post

Actually, it is very hard to find RAM that is not warrantied for life.
Bill: I've read the Guarantees (Warranty) and they seem to be for life only on workmanship and material defects, in fact they require return in the original non-static bag at the owners expense. I wouldn't expect a lifetime out of a stick, just 5-8 years out of a good one.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-22-2018, 03:09 PM   #6
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


in fact they require return in the original non-static bag at the owners expense.I have found that is typically shyster... err... legal talk. I have had to return RAM before and while they wanted anti-static bags, the were not picky. Off-brands may not be so forgiving.

Lifetime is a relative term. We cannot expect them to last 70 or 80 years but there are 10 - 12 year computers around here still chugging along with original RAM just fine.

That fact is, most RAM is retired long before it fails as most people just don't keep their computers longer 5 - 6 years before upgrading/replacing.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 07-23-2018, 12:34 AM   #7
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Agree with Bill...

While there are legal jargon in they actual terms, they've never turned down any request, keep in mind to return in pairs if you're using paired RAMs.

I've returned old DDR2 RAMs some DDR3s with lifetime warranty, just wrapped in bubble wrap, some I had to ship to Taiwan (Expensive) :( but they promptly replaced them and paid for return shipping (refurbished of course)... For my country, they've now tied up with freight forwarders/bulk shippers, so shipping is comparatively cheaper..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-05-2018, 10:01 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 77
OS: CentOS


Optimally you want ram that matches the bus speed in mhz to your motherboard. The motherboard determines the potential of computer performance.
christophHoff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install all my RAM at the same time
Hello there gents, I have a bit of a problem that has me stumped, and would greatly appreciate any input at all! Firstly, my relevant specs are: Intel i7 950 3.06GHz Quad Asus Sabertooth x58 Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333MHz x 3 Palit GTX 460 2GB Seasonic M12-II 520W PSU Roughly a week ago, I...
johndoeis RAM and Power Supply Support 8 11-30-2014 04:48 PM
Need advice for RAM upgrade
Hello, I currently have 8GB (2x4GB sticks) of GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 RAM. I plan to upgrade this to 16GB, and the easiest and cheapest way of doing this seems to be by installing 2 more 4GB sticks. So my first question: are there any drawbacks of having 4 sticks of RAM as opposed to 2? Does...
TheRandomGuy7 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 11-17-2014 10:20 AM
No display when adding new RAM
I have an Acer M1641 Desktop and I bought a brand new RAM (which is 2GB DDR2-800 Kingston) to upgrade my existing one (which is 1GB DDR2-667 Samsung). My plan was to buy a RAM with the same frequency (DDR2-667) but It's difficult to find one, so I bought the DDR2-800. I asked the sales clerk if...
duomax03 RAM and Power Supply Support 13 12-04-2011 06:33 PM
Half of the Ram detected by PC
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I...
Tech Amateur RAM and Power Supply Support 14 02-12-2011 08:22 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts