Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Quick PSU Question

This is a discussion on Quick PSU Question within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm having an issue with a computer I'm currently working on. The system boots up just fine, but there seems


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7



I'm having an issue with a computer I'm currently working on. The system boots up just fine, but there seems to be an issue with the fan on the PSU not running. I've made every attempt to clean the dust bunnies away from the fan without opening the actual PSU itself. Unfortunately, that did not do the trick.

The question now is the PSU just ticking away to it's inevitable end? Or will it be ok to continue running this PSU in the system in the condition it's currently in?

Thanks for any assistance you can give.
x86computing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2011, 01:50 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



What brand and model PSU?
Some PSU's have a fan set up to only run at a predetermined temp.
If it's just a generic PSU that won't be the case and I would replace sooner rather then later.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 01:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7



Hmm. Ok, thanks for the quick response.

I'm fairly positive it's a generic PSU. I'm fairly certain it was a stock PSU that is came with. But, I would have recheck the brand.

Thanks for the information again wrench97!
x86computing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2011, 02:09 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



What brand and model PC?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:25 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
What brand and model PC?
Dell Dimension 3000
x86computing is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 02:31 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,460
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit

My System


That PC comes with a 250w PSU. Like Wrench97 says, rather upgrade it before it's too late and it overheats and takes other components with it, as what happens in most cases when a PSU fails.
Johnny1982 is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 02:53 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jay_JWLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,016
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1 - 64-bit

My System


The fan helps to remove the heat generated from the PSU, and in the case of a proper PSU they will change according to the temperature. So the hotter it becomes, the faster the fan should go. Some PSU's might not have that level of control though, and might just run full blast the entire time at the risk of more wear and tear, plus noise. You never know how bad of a job some hardware could do if you buy it from a manufacturer trying to cut on costs in order to make a profit.

If the fan isn't working, and your PSU gets too hot, it might overheat. Then who knows what issues you might face. You should get a replacement one, even if it is a second hand one that still works just fine for the previous person. I assume your computer isn't too valuable to you, so not going all out for a high quality PSU probably isn't what you are after. Personally, I sold my last one one (430W) for 20 NZD.
Jay_JWLH is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 06:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,460
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit

My System


We can only recommend PSU's on the basis that we know what your PC internals are ie CPU/Graphics card etc. We recommend high quality Seasonic Made (XFX / Corsair / Seasonic) PSU's of which the GS and CX Models from Corsair are not recommended. Please post full system specs. A Minimum of 550w is recommended for a PCI-E Graphics card.
Johnny1982 is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 07:05 AM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by x86computing View Post
Dell Dimension 3000
The PSU in that unit should run all the time. If the fan is inoperable the PSU needs to be replaced.
If it is using Onboard Graphics, a 430W Corsair will be fine.
CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 $45: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about psu I am about to receive
I bought a RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-730SS. After reading a lot of reviews I am now worried about putting this into my desktop. I'm primarily using to power a Radeon HD 6870, and I don't want to fry any hardware as I could not afford to get anything new. Just some general input please. I also don't...
ScootJeefers RAM and Power Supply Support 6 06-13-2011 03:38 AM
Quick Question about SLI
I recently purchased a new mobo - a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 ATX Intel Motherboard LGA 1156 and a Galaxy 460 GC GeForce 768MB GDDR5 PCIe2.0 Dual DVI, Mini HDMI, SLI, DirectX 11, Fermi GFX card. My question is: Can I use my old JATON Video-PX7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 in conjunction...
coldize Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 9 01-15-2011 08:06 AM
A quick question...
First. I am running three routers at home, one as the gateway/router one as an access point and the third as a bridge/repeater. The Gateway/router and the bridge have matching SSIDs and security settings. The WAP has a different SSID and security settings. I want to be able to seamelessly switch...
GZ Networking Support 12 01-11-2011 04:06 PM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts