Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

PSU Voltage not stable

This is a discussion on PSU Voltage not stable within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I just dont know or is something wrong on my side or... this is second PSU and same alerts


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2018, 03:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


Hello, I just dont know or is something wrong on my side or... this is second PSU and same alerts etc. I see. Why I pay 80 for Gigabyte 700W and last was Corsair 650W for 75, so they are not so bad or cheap or do I need to pay 150 for PSU to have stable computer?

Software AIDA64

and Black window from ASUS AI Suite II by Probe II


Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ASUS Voltage Alert Select.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	319184  
Attached Images
    
BostyanBMW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2018, 04:43 PM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,308
OS: Windows 10 Pro



It might not be an issue with your PSU but rather an issue with your mobo.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 04:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


Oh ty for info. but if is all ok voltage most be always stable?

+/- picture, but never 0V alert?


I still playing with Asus Voltage alert, but with this settings work. with this settings I see few small warning the main problem is 0V.

That 5V warning to 10V is
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Supply Voltage Tolerances.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	319194   Click image for larger version

Name:	ASUS Voltage.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	319196   Click image for larger version

Name:	ASUS Voltage 5V to 10V Alert.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	319198  

BostyanBMW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2018, 05:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


About warning 5V to 10V this will ruin my computer for sure maybe MB send wrong data to softwares/computer?

So maybe it is something on MB
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:57 PM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,015
OS: windows 10

My System


Chech voltages in bios
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 03-15-2018, 09:50 AM   #6
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


First, is your computer unstable?

The fact you have tried two different power supplies and get the same results suggests your power supplies are good.

I would try another hardware monitor. Check out HwInfo64. But note the amount of information it provides can be overwhelming to new users until used to the program. So when it starts, check "Sensors only" when prompted. Then scroll down to your motherboard and see what the voltages say there. If still out of the 5% allowed tolerance range, then further troubleshooting is required.

I am not a fan of using a multimeter to test power supplies because they can be dangerous and are not conclusive. But in this case, you can verify voltages by using the meter probes in unused PSU connectors. If bad, it is possible you got two bad supplies, but that is not likely - especially not two bad with the exact same symptoms.

Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

If you have a multimeter and know what you are doing, you can verify your mains voltages are correct too. But since these are definitely deadly voltages, don't do it unless qualified.

If you have an UPS on your system, most UPS have either a LCD display panel that can display the line voltage, or software that can report the line voltage, or both.

Last, there have been many reports of the ASUS Anti-Surge feature causing more headaches than it is worth for some users. If certain your mains outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground, and the mains voltages are correct, you might consider disabling that feature and see what happens.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 03:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


Idont have UPS....

I use AIDA64 because it show warning.... and warning 0 V are when I type "0 V Alert" if anyone have time and install free version of AIDA64 and test if is a bug or is problem on my computer.

All others sensors are stable. Is nice if I lay game etc. it show warning very usefull for testing. I will try on AIDA64 Forum or if anyone have time 30 min and test if show 0 V...



Now I use RAM, CPU, SSD, MB and GPU, but is new card better and still same problem



BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 04:13 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


15 min to fast :D

Computer is not stable every 1, 2, 3 days is turn off automatically like restart. When is off I can`t turn it ON I need to switch 0/1 button on psu for 10 sec, after that I can turn on PC normally. Thats the main reason... for my problem. CPU max temp after 30 min 100% test is 60C and this all warnings are from idle mode so CPU Temp is totaly fake. (In idle is CPU temp 40C, but I look only CPU Package: 44 C is more realistic!

Could OS be a problem here ?

Anyway one more picture....
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 08:28 PM   #9
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


You can't use Photobucket to host images anymore. They turned nasty and want sites like TSF to pay $400 per year.

Best to use the forum's own Attach Files feature or Imgur.com.

You are the one that needs to try another hardware monitor. We don't need to test AIDA64. It won't do any good because we don't have your motherboard or CPU.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 03:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


I found a problem about 0V was default drivers for motherboard - ASUS AI Suite II. Now no alerts, if ASUS AI Suite II is not installed.

For computer restarting I didn`t finish everything for now so... now with new OS everything works ok no restarts etc.

Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro

I try other versions for other Asus Motherboard and same problem 0V warning.... I try with other hardware monitor is same 0V.

Second computer works ok with drivers and same motherboard. Now I need to test others components card reader etc.

BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 03:33 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Bright View Post
You can't use Photobucket to host images anymore. They turned nasty and want sites like TSF to pay $400 per year.
Even if I use TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting and I never had problems on any other forum, but here doesnt work. I think is bug on this forum...
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:35 AM   #12
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


No. Image attachments work fine here. The problem with Photobucket is they go greed. I recommend you use https://imgur.com/
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:11 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Bright View Post
No. Image attachments work fine here. The problem with Photobucket is they go greed. I recommend you use https://imgur.com/
All pictures above are fake icons and they are not from Photobucket! they are from TinyPic


Computer is stable look voltage +/- without ASUS AI Suite II I test versions for other MB same 0V warning. After fromat everything works ok no restarts....

1h 100% test no alerts etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100% CPU Test.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	152.9 KB
ID:	319508  
Attached Images
 
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:37 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


My bad they are from photobucket I use pictures on other forum.... sry


Anyone know for good fan regulator like from Asus.

What I hate is CPU temp aand CPU Package!

CPU temp is max 60C but CPU Package go above 80 On my computer is max 80C

And most softwares use CPU temp not CPU Package temp

And line is not very good u can see on picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zajeta slika.PNG
Views:	50
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	319512  
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:55 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


15 min is so fast :D

Software with this option. Or I will remove alerts and use ASUS AI Suite II. If anyone know for any free software fan regulator like from asus will be nice....

Asus Strix NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB

so fans not run if is temp lower then I set 55C default is 65C (asus gpu tweak 2) In idle is GPU temp 45C so fans starts when I play games or....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	side.PNG
Views:	50
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	319514  
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 11:56 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 8.1 Ent

My System


I will never bought normal cards, because it is totaly useless for fans to run all the time on graphic card for no reason even if is temp 30C. I better have temp 40-45C and fans off. When my computer is in idle only runs 2 fans CPU and back side at 500-600 rpm and computer is totaly soundless Picture for fan line is default not my. I didn`t finish everything after format....

And Asus created option to fans always be on or turned on by user settings is perfect all in one

Now I only need to find software for CPU fans etc. if anyone know for any good free software will be nice....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ASUS GPU Tweak II - Fan always ON.png
Views:	49
Size:	111.2 KB
ID:	319516  
BostyanBMW is offline  
Old 04-07-2018, 12:31 PM   #17
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


I know many people who have experienced problems - until they disable ASUS AntiSurge.

Your voltages look good there. Acceptable Tolerances:
12VDC 5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC
5VDC 5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC
3.3VDC 5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible PSU issue - desperate need of some advice :)
Ok, I recently build my system, however the budget was limited so I went cheap for the first PSU - terrible mistake, as the second morning the entire rig didn't power up. Exchanged the PSU for a new one, Intertech Combat Edition modular. (I didn't know much about PSU's at the time and was in a...
Vaseer_G RAM and Power Supply Support 5 10-14-2013 02:23 PM
[SOLVED] PSU going bad?
Hi guys. My current main build (completed Jan, 2011 with help from Tumbleweed36, may he RIP) seems to have an issue with the PSU, or at least the PSU fan. It's developed a whine, which now that I recall has been coming around for a couple weeks, but now seems mostly on. I'm 99.99% sure it's the PSU...
tetonbob RAM and Power Supply Support 23 07-24-2013 09:38 AM
[SOLVED] Graphics card or PSU problem?
Hi there, I was just wondering if anyone could help me. Me PC for the last couple of days has been crashing (mostly while gaming) and I'm not sure if the problem is caused either by the Graphics card or PSU. Here are my system specs (self-built): PNY GeForce 9800 GX2 Unbranded (was pretty...
Tom1122 Video Card Support 5 07-18-2011 10:03 AM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todays modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts