Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

PSU For XPS 8500

This is a discussion on PSU For XPS 8500 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello folks, I'm looking to replace my power supply in my XPS 8500 desktop, but I want to hear some


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2016, 11:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 8 64-bit


Send a message via MSN to sens08 Send a message via Yahoo to sens08

Hello folks, I'm looking to replace my power supply in my XPS 8500 desktop, but I want to hear some suggestions or know if this unit that I'm currently looking at online will be suitable for my system:

Thermaltake SMART Series SP-550PCBUS 550W ATX 12V 2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.ca

A brief overview of my system:
Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.4 GHz
12.0 GB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 620

Current PSU: Dell Model AC460AD-01, 460W

I'm not thinking of upgrading anything else right now, but having an option there would be nice if need be down the road.
sens08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2016, 05:56 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 8 64-bit


Send a message via MSN to sens08 Send a message via Yahoo to sens08

Also came across this one on Newegg:
CORSAIR CX series CX500 500W 80 PLUS BRONZE Active PFC ATX12V & EPS12V Power Supply - Newegg.ca
There is also other a 600w and 750w listed to, but I'm thinking between the 500 and 600.
sens08 is offline  
Old 12-10-2016, 08:20 AM   #3
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


A top quality 500 - 550 is plenty big enough. A larger PSU will not hurt anything, but your wallet.

It used to be if it said Corsair on the label, it was top quality. But they've cut back in recent years on their budget lines, which includes the CX series. I don't recommend Corsair PSUs unless you go for their top tier lines, which are still excellent.

If I had to choose from only those 2 you listed, I would take the TT. But I personally like EVGA supplies and have been using them in all our builds lately. SeaSonics are also highly recommended. I prefer Gold certified. While they do tend to cost more, they are also more efficient than Bronze supplies. So over the life of the supply, they will consume significantly less energy and generate significantly less heat.

Any in this list would be great but I note the SeaSonic G Series 550W Gold is currently being offered for $55 after $15 rebate, with free shipping. I think I would jump on that one if I were looking for a supply today.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2016, 10:23 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 8 64-bit


Send a message via MSN to sens08 Send a message via Yahoo to sens08

Thanks for your reply Bill_Bright, I will give your post consideration and make a decision sometime soon!
sens08 is offline  
Old 12-21-2016, 04:57 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 8 64-bit


Send a message via MSN to sens08 Send a message via Yahoo to sens08

Just getting back about the topic, I finally received the PSU today and got a Cooler Master n200 case last week, which I immediately started doing the transfer over to the new one. Took me a while to complete but everything went nicely after I found out about the front panel pin configuration. My machine (XPS 8500) is now up and running smoothly & quietly. I also had another pc on hand to look up a few things on the net before I energized the system. I did went with the CX600 after, just hope I don't regret it but it seems to worked out fine now and I'll keep the SesSonic model in mind for next time as I do have another pc here at the home.
sens08 is offline  
Old 12-22-2016, 09:46 AM   #6
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Great! Glad it all works and thanks for the update.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! PSU Popped when turning on for first time!
Hi everyone, I hope you can help me. Last night I was putting my components together after receiving my last part yesterday afternoon. I had just installed everything, and I thought it was going great. I had checked the connectors were all the way in and plugged my cable into my socket. (it...
Clucket RAM and Power Supply Support 5 03-02-2015 07:50 AM
Can A MotherBoard fry PSU ????!
hello, I have a very weird case here , I recently bought a new desktop with the following specs . M.B : GA-Z97X-UD3H CPU : intel coreI7 4790 Graphics Card : GigaByte GTX 660-OC RAM : HyperX fury 8GB (X2) Chassis : CoolerMaster K380(500W PSU) I assembled everything together and it all...
Amr Awad RAM and Power Supply Support 3 12-15-2014 09:13 AM
[SOLVED] PSU replaced, BIOS won't read SATA drives, then strange power issue
Synopsis: PSU died, replaced PSU with different model, system boots to bios successfully but does not recognize any devices in SATA ports, nor do those devices appear to be getting power. Now can't even get to BIOS, entire PC flicks on and off repeatedly as soon as I turn the PSU on regardless of...
nstiver Motherboards, Bios & CPU 14 10-22-2012 11:56 AM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts