Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Problem with power supply unit of HP XW6600 Workstation

This is a discussion on Problem with power supply unit of HP XW6600 Workstation within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dear friends all over the world! I have a second hand HP Workstation XW6600, I bought it last year (2016)


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2017, 01:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 64bit


Confused

Dear friends all over the world!

I have a second hand HP Workstation XW6600, I bought it last year (2016) but only use it some times.
Recently, I've met a problem with its PSU (power supply unit). The PSU is a 670 watt power, strong enough to supply for whole system.
But I don't know why the PSU has been damaged 3 times within only 1 year from the time I bought it in 2016.
Specifically, when I am working on it, for example editting documents, drawing AutoCAD, etc, the PSU suddenly was damaged, sounds a "boom".
I doubted the PSU was overloaded but I don't know how to check this issue.
I also know that the PSU has an autovoltage function, it means that I can use an a.c voltage range from 100V to 240V. I am now using a 240VAC source.
So I have some questions for you as follows:
1. Could you help me to fix this issue? (the psu is damaged continuously)
2. Should I use a 100VAC source for this PSU?
3. Do I use an automatic voltage stabilizer?

Thank you so much

Rain
(Vietnam)
VUTRONIX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2017, 01:43 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


How is the power grid in the area? If its unstable or dirty power, you may want to consider a UPC or Battery Backup to help clean and stabilize the power flow.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 10-15-2017, 09:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
How is the power grid in the area? If its unstable or dirty power, you may want to consider a UPC or Battery Backup to help clean and stabilize the power flow.
Dear Masterchiefxx17,

Thank you so much.
I will seriously consider your advice.

BR,
Rain
VUTRONIX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2017, 02:13 PM   #4
Troubled
 
rushpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows10



It is absolutely essential that the power supply in the unit of HP XW6600 Workstation system be supplying the voltages with consistency.You must use the power controlling system.
rushpcb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't post BIOS
I have a friends old PC and was reinstalling XP at their request as they've had trouble and thought it might help. I formatted, reinstalled XP and then restarted after installing the drivers which were missing. After the restart I was unable to install any virus software, and after about five...
gemmers Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 10-10-2013 03:17 PM
Western Digital Elements 500GB Power problem even with new power supply
Hi I hope someone can give me some good pointers here. I have used a Western Digital Elements external hard drive for a number of years it powers up with my PC when I boot up. I have never had a problem with it until recently. I noticed no power going into the drive and the green light on...
technophobe1 Hard Drive Support 17 11-14-2011 03:11 PM
Power supply problem
I have a power supply of 230 V, in which I run: Intel core2duo E7400 2.8 Ghz Trancend 2gb ram (upgrading to 4 gb shortly) Nvidia Geforce 9400 GT 1gb Seagate 320 Gb hdd Another Seagate 1 Tb hdd L.G DVD Writer Now problem with me is that my Dvd drive don't function properly, it works...
mail2jaydeep007 RAM and Power Supply Support 9 06-11-2011 07:46 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts