Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Problem with my DDR2 Ram

This is a discussion on Problem with my DDR2 Ram within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. im new, heloo i bought a PC2-8000 DDR2-1000 (it says on the box too) but when i used CPU-Z to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2009, 06:03 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



im new, heloo

i bought a PC2-8000 DDR2-1000 (it says on the box too)
but when i used CPU-Z to check on the RAM info. it show up
PC2-6400 (400MHz).......shouldnt be PC2-8000 ? not PC2-6400

i used CPU-Z Ver. 1.49

and i also check the Part Number. behind the box and it's 4GBPQ
but in CPU-Z it show up 2GBPQ

like...everything what it says on the box its different from CPU-Z info.
CPU-Z mistake ? or it should be like that....

one more thing, the max speed i got its 800MHz (shows on start up)
RidoLyi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2009, 07:54 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


Hi,
Welcome to TSF.

Part of the problem is that CPU-Z uses information (JEDEC)that is coded onto the RAM and currently there is no JEDEC spec to encode for PC2-8000. It stopped at PC2-6400. So the RAM is reported as PC2-6400. I have PC2-8500 with the same issue. This does not mean that the RAM is running at 400MHz. Look under the memory TAB and you will see the speed. The part number is also associated with the JEDEC spec and is not correctly reported. What memory do you have?

Paul
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 10:46 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead3 View Post
... What memory do you have?

Paul
I hav the G.Skill 2x2GB PC2-8000 DDR2-1000
RidoLyi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2009, 11:08 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


The part number on the box is for the pair while CPU-Z is reading the number from one part. Which motherboard do you have? You may need to adjust the BIOS if you are not getting proper speed.
Paul

https://newgskill.web-bi.net/bbs/view...esc=asc&no=105
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead3 View Post
... Which motherboard do you have?

Paul
I have the Asus P5N-T Deluxe. but is not in the qualified list (the web you gave me)
RidoLyi is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 09:09 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


What DRAM frequency is showing in CPU-Z under the Memory Tab?
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:54 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead3 View Post
What DRAM frequency is showing in CPU-Z under the Memory Tab?
it showed up 400.0MHz DRAM Frequency
RidoLyi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts