Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Problem booting up

This is a discussion on Problem booting up within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, I just installed an E8400 and booted up for the first time, it was a little hot so


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2008, 09:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Hey guys, I just installed an E8400 and booted up for the first time, it was a little hot so I took everything apart and removed the motherboard to install the heatsink again. It wont boot up now. I can hook everything up and the 4 pin connector by the cpu is the problem I think. I can power on without that connector being pluged in but if I plug it in the computer will only turn on for 1 second and shut down.. Think it could be that connector in the motherboard or the power supply connector? Maybe something totaly different.. My motherboard is Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L and my power supply is a Corsair HX620W
10pmStalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2008, 10:58 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Why did you have to remove motherboard to take out heatsink?
manic is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 11:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System

I had to remove the motherboard to put the heatsink back on

nobody can help me with this problem?
10pmStalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2008, 01:17 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what video card are you running
set it up out of the case on a piece of cardboard with
cpu
video
ram
speaker
and see if you get post
check you have the correct amount of standoffs no more no less
that they line up with the holes in the m/board
usually 9
did you renew the paste on the cpu,which you need to do each time the h/s is disturbed
https://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 02:00 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


I will set it up on a piece of cardboard, thank you for that. Just wondering though, does this happen when the cpu heatsink isnt on propper or thermal paste isnt on right? I had alot of troubles putting the heatsink back on (bent pins on Freezer Pro 7) I finally got it on but not without alot of removing it and setting it back on.
10pmStalker is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 02:05 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



the push pin securing system leaves a lot to be desired i usually change to a bolt down cpu cooler as one of the pins have a habit of popping up causeing the cpu heat to soar



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 02:31 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


cool, I will look into that. Do you think this could be a cpu problem though? I been looking around online ind cant find much about my problem. Maybe you know more about it and if the computer would shut off after 1 second of powering on if it was a bad cpu.. im thinking its the mobo but I just dont know
10pmStalker is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:33 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



powering on and straight off is usually a short the's why we test out of case



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 07:32 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



remove the motherboard and try to boot up out of the case. if it works fine then, fix the motherboard to case and make sure , it is not touching the case.

Alps.
alpweb is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 11:11 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


ok guys, I just hooked it up outside the case and same thing happend. I signed up for an RMA from Gigabyte lastnight, should I send it in or do a few more tests?
10pmStalker is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 03:31 PM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i would test it out of the case first,you could wait weeks for a return of the m/b from rma



dai is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 05:27 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 329
OS: win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


the last thing I did was test it out of the case, still same problem. Would I have to ship the mobo back in original box to gigabyte or do they need all the screwes and books too? Could I ship it in a bubble wrap envelope or would that be not to safe?
10pmStalker is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 04:45 PM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



ship it back in it's original box and make sure you refit the cover on the cpu socket,and put it in it's anti static bag
it's your m/b you don't want any damage in transit



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts