User Tag List

power supply

This is a discussion on power supply within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I bought a new power supply (Corsair) and I want to fit it into an old case but...it doesn't line


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2011, 08:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



I bought a new power supply (Corsair) and I want to fit it into an old case but...it doesn't line up with the holes in the case i.e. I can't screw it in.

Is it ok to drill holes in my case to line it up or is that a really bad idea?
cemcc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2011, 08:29 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Any chance you can post a photo?? The mountng holes for power supplies has not changed in many years . . sure it is not upside down?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 11-17-2011, 08:50 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



hehe yes, yes....it was upside down! lol I fit it in no probs (the right way round!) so that's good!

Thanks for pointing out the obvious :)
cemcc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2011, 04:08 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Sometimes it's the simple things that are the most difficult.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-17-2011, 04:13 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Thanks for posting back . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:22 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



I fit in the power supply and I can switch pc on now but...it's making a strange, em, noise, almost like an alarm. What's up with that? Faulty power supply? Or might something else be wrong?
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:26 PM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



What is the source of the noise?



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:30 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



I don't know. I'm guessing it's the power supply but I could be wrong.
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:31 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



it's just a very loud noise that starts whenever I switch pc on. can't say where it's coming from exactly. I don't know.
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:36 PM   #10
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



What's the Model Number of the Corsair?
We can't offer reliable assistance if we don't know the source of the noise.
You can remove the PSU from the case and reconnect the power leads. That would make the noise easier to pin point if it is from the PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:38 PM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Confirm the 6-pin and/or 8-pin PCI-e connectors are set on your graphics card.
gcavan is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



ok, all the info I have on my corsair: Corsair CP-9020001-UK Enthusiast Series TX550M 550w Modular Power Supply

connectors set on my graphics card?! how do I do that?!
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:43 PM   #13
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Are you using a dedicated GPU that requires external power? If not, those connections do not apply. The source of the noise really needs to be determined.

PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:46 PM   #14
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Most newer graphics cards will have a socket which looks like this. It will take a power connector from your power supply (should be marked pci-e)

Click image for larger version

Name:	power-connector.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	221.8 KB
ID:	101021
gcavan is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:47 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



no, I don't need external power for my gpu. it's just a standard little pc (that I have tried to rebuild) and, well, it's not really working.
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:49 PM   #16
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post

PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.


Tyree is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:49 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



oh well, hold on....I think I've plugged my power supply directly into my motherboard. not into a graphics card. is that wrong?
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:50 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



power into a gpu...that doesn't sound right? but maybe it is....hmmm....
cemcc is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:50 PM   #19
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The 20+4 pin harness from the PSU goes to the corresponding 20+4 slot on the Mobo.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:52 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 373
OS: Win10 (64 & 32bit)



right, ok, that's maybe where I've put it ;) but....still doesn't explain what's making the noise?
cemcc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Screwed up a PC trying to upgrade power supply
Like the tree said to the lumberjack: I'm stumped! I tried putting a spare power supply into my friend's PC and when flipping the switch on the back of it, the pc wouldn't power up. The power supply itself seemed to be running, but the machine wouldn't boot. So I figured maybe that spare power...
Sloppydrippins RAM and Power Supply Support 11 09-25-2011 06:16 PM
[SOLVED] Command line problem
Hi, I wanted to be able to induce the screensaver on my monitor when I was finished working. So, I followed the instructions on this link: How can I turn off the monitor (i.e., "put it to - Microsoft Answers EXCEPT that the second part of the instruction doesn't work i.e. the monitor...
priapus Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 50 06-18-2011 10:17 AM
Power Supply or Sudden overheating?
I recently bought a new power supply, Thermaltake TR2 600w (my previous being 400w) and I also got a new graphics card, ATI RadeonHD 4650. I bought these things mainly to play Starcraft II on Ultra Settings. When I did so, the recommended settings for SC II was medium, so I put ultra to test....
DanielHorus RAM and Power Supply Support 17 03-09-2011 03:19 AM
Team rules guidebook
Hardware Team Guidebook These are my expectations of each Team Member as we work together to build a strong and effective Hardware Team. Team Structure:  Techs - Techs are skilled members who have been selected by the Hardware Team and Team Management to solve problems in the Hardware...
dai Tweakers 0 05-17-2009 07:55 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts