Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Power sometimes goes into Power cycle

This is a discussion on Power sometimes goes into Power cycle within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I just moved house and set up my computer, the problem I am facing is that after using my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2017, 11:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10



So I just moved house and set up my computer, the problem I am facing is that after using my computer for about 5 minutes it shut down and went into a power cycle as in was continuing to shut down and power up (sometimes reaching windows screen, sometimes not that far). If i leave it in this power down power up state eventually it will just come good and start working as per normal and may even run for hours or until I am finished with using it. I have searched around for all possible solutions and explanations to this but am struggling to find any that match my problem. Sometimes the computer will work fine. Sometimes it won't.

The Motherboard, CPU, RAM, Harddrive and GPU are all a month old. Power supply is only thing that isn't, although I can't get enough consistency in the problem to actually test anything.

What I have tried,
Reseat all Power cables, GPU, RAM and Data cables
Remove a stick of ram (tested both sticks)
Ran without GPU (Seemed to work but was still unsure as the problem is on and off)
Tried running with just 1 monitor not 2
unplugged all HDD except main one

I am at a loss apart from trying a new PSU which will take some time as I live a considerable distance from a computer parts store.

PC Specs:
CPU- I7 - 6700 3.4GHz
MotherBoard - Asrock B150 GAMING K4/HYPER
RAM - G.Skill RIPJAWS 4 2x4GB
GPU - NVIDIA GTX 1080
PSU - Coolmaster GX 650W
OS - Windows 10

I should state it also does not matter what i am doing as to when it crashes.
Justin1111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2017, 10:57 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

I'd give a fair guess in that the PSU is going bad.

Inside the BIOS, what are the 12V, 3.3V, 5V, and VCORE voltages?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 11:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10


Hi thank you very much:)

Sorry for late reply had a long day at work.

12v - 12.288v
5v - 5.160v
3.3v - 3.440v
Vcore - 1.088
Justin1111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2017, 05:31 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


While within spec, the 3.3V rail is near the failing point.

Do you have or can borrow another PSU to test with?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-28-2017, 03:00 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10



I unfortunately do not, I just moved to a pretty remote place. If you think this could be a problem I will try source one and have it delivered to my house, could probably use an upgrade anyway but just wanted to see if it could possibly be anything else before I went to that sort of trouble as delivery fees are a fortune.
Justin1111 is offline  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:47 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
So I just moved house
Could it be faultily power outlets in the new home? Is the PC running on a surge protector?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Power Suply
Hello all. My PSU are dead and i need a new one. Search a lot and didn't find that HP PSU (100gbp new with shipping) or the 320W unit. This is my specs. CPU-Z TXT Report -------------------------------------------------------------------------
asperin RAM and Power Supply Support 7 12-10-2015 05:59 AM
HP DeskTop Motherboard and PS won't Power On
HP DeskTop Motherboard and PS won't Power On Hello, I am new to this forum and also troubleshooting motherboards. I've done some on-line research and tried a few recommended steps. The desktop is a: HP Pavilion Media Center a1640n - 2006
grapture Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 10-09-2011 11:36 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts